Things You Never Expect

I never in my wildest dreams expected to wake up one day to learn I had kidney cancer.  But I did and hopefully and God willing, it’s in the past.

We got up early April 28th for the drive to New Orleans and got there about an early ahead of time but they were ready for me in out-patient surgery.  Everyone starts out there even if there’s a planned hospital stay.

My surgery had been moved up to 11:30 but I wasn’t even taken to holding until then although Dr. Lee was ready to get started.  Someone evidently dropped the ball about my latex allergy so the OR suite wasn’t really ready for me.  I was finally wheeled back to the OR about 1:30.

Long story made short—-the surgery was a success.  Dr. Lee was able to remove the entire cancer intact.  The margins were negative and he was able to save about 75% of my right kidney.  That means that if in the future there’s a problem with the other kidney, I’ll still have enough kidney function to avoid dialysis.  For a diabetic patient—-that is wonderful news!

I had seen a video of this surgery online so I thought I knew what to expect.   I have 4 tiny incisions and 1 drain site.

My hospital stay was only 2 days.  I think I’m doing well.  The only problems I seem to be having are practically no appetite,  no energy, and not being able to go to sleep.  I think these are prolonged effects from the anesthesia and hope they’ll resolve soon.

I’ll see Dr. Lee on June 1st for a follow-up and expect to see what kind of monitoring there will be.  There is no chemo or radiation with this kind of cancer.  Dr. Lee said:  “we’re going for the cure”.

I want to thank you all for your prayers and kind, positive thoughts.  God has indeed taken care of this fool.  🙂

Leave a comment

55 Comments

  1. I’m so very happy for you!

    Reply
  2. I have been following your blog for a while now, and love the work you do. I am soo glad that your results are good. The news would have been awful to start with.

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  May 27, 2011

      Thanks Margarita. Yes, the news was stunning to begin with but it’s going to be good.

      Reply
  3. Elaine

     /  May 22, 2011

    What wonderful news!!! Prayers are indeed answered.

    Reply
  4. rhona hodgson

     /  May 22, 2011

    Good luck Sheryl, hope its all good for u in the future.

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  May 27, 2011

      Thanks Elaine and Rhona. God is good and he has surely been good to me.

      Reply
  5. Carol Morgan

     /  May 22, 2011

    Sherly,
    Happy to hear the good news, Doing a Happy Dance for you here in Delaware. Been thinking of you and praying for you. Will keep you in my thoughts and prayers.

    Reply
  6. Fantastic news. I have a friend with a similar experience, and she’s doing well a full decade after her surgery. No recurrences and no problems. I hope your future is equally uneventful. I love your Garden Party quilt, BTW. The best to you.

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  May 27, 2011

      Thanks Barbara. I like hearing about people who have had this. In all the years I worked as a nurse, I can’t recall having a single patient who had kidney cancer.

      Reply
  7. Robin Moody

     /  May 22, 2011

    Sheryl,
    I hate to see people who rain oon good news and yours is fantastic. This is just some info I want you to be aware of. My story is about my sister-in-law. She had kidney cancer that had gone so long without detection that the kidney was as big as a football. The tumor was so vascular she was severly anemic. Anyway, they took out her entire kidney, she had no other health concerns thank God. The point is she later came down with renal cell cancer on her panceras. Successful surgery. Then she had a renal cell tumor on her bottom. Another successful surgery. Then a renal cell cancer on her lung. She has had each of these taken care of successfully due to early detection. She gets scanned and poked and prodded every 6 mths but this has allowed each of these tumors to be found when they are very small and curable. My story is to make very sure they really keep an eye on you. Sounds like you have a great Dr but just felt like I had to say this. I know my Mom just had part of her lung removed and was so anxious to talk to anyone who had gone thru so I am thinking along those lines as I write this. SIL is very healthy and having a last with life.

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  May 27, 2011

      Hi Robin. I don’t like sad stories or horror stories about cancer but it’s always nice to hear how people overcome it….especially the kind I had.

      Prayers that your SIL will continue to have a great life and one free of cancer.

      Reply
  8. Joyce

     /  May 22, 2011

    God bless and speedy recovery. I too am a kidney and breast cancer survivor. Every day is a gift.

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  May 27, 2011

      Thank you Joyce. Yes, every day is indeed a gift from God. Best wishes for continued good health for you!

      Reply
  9. tracy van reet

     /  May 22, 2011

    So glad to hear all is well, you’re on my prayers!

    Reply
  10. OH Great news! Cancer is no longer a death sentence as it once was. I have sent a special prayer of thanksgiving for good news. Will pray for completed recovery (appetite and energy) so please keep us posted.

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  May 27, 2011

      Hi Arlene. It’s truly amazing at the advances in cancer options. I’m getting better every day.

      Reply
  11. Maria

     /  May 22, 2011

    I am so happy that you had a succesful surgery! God Bless you and I am keeping you in my prayers.

    Reply
  12. Carla

     /  May 23, 2011

    I hope you feel better very soon so you can enjoy your life again although
    your life will never be the same as before.
    I will pray for you. Carla

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  May 27, 2011

      Thank you Maria and Carla. It has been so nice to know people care. 🙂

      Reply
  13. So glad you came through the surgery with such a good outcome. There’s always after effects from any surgery but when it’s part of your body’s cleansing system I’m not surprised you have little appetite and are lethargic.
    Hope the report at the follow up is positive and you’re feeling fine sooner rather than later :0.

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  May 27, 2011

      Things are getting better. I’m finally able to go to sleep and the appetite is gradually improving as is the energy level.

      Reply
  14. Hi Sheryl, What a trot! Glad to hear all is going good for you :)) I have had cancer in the past and it went in the bucket! Sounds like thats where yours went too!!! Keep up the good work and upward and onward.
    Hugs
    Val

    Reply
  15. Vanessa Spencer

     /  May 23, 2011

    Glad to hear everthing went well, Kind Regards Nessa

    Reply
  16. As a breast cancer survivor and diabetic, my thoughts are totally with you. Your type of cancer is more serious, especially as there is no other treatment other than surgery available. Keep the faith and remain positive. Your side effects of not sleeping, etc. are due to the “sleeping potion” you were given – that is normal. This, too will pass. I wish you a speedy recovery and a healthy and happy life. Joan Davidson

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  May 27, 2011

      Hi Joan. I don’t know if my cancer is more serious or not but I’m certainly glad it’s gone! 🙂

      I’m finally sleeping again. Ahhh….sleep!

      Reply
  17. me alegro por ti te tendré en mis oraciones

    Reply
  18. Betty G

     /  May 23, 2011

    Wishing you a speedy recovery – you are one of the fortunate ones! I know after one surgery it took me months to regain my appetite etc – allergy to the anesthetic. Prayers going your way.
    Betty

    Reply
  19. Maureen

     /  May 23, 2011

    Sheryl
    Delighted with the news, thoughts and prayers are for you.
    Take care
    Maureen

    Reply
  20. Zelda

     /  May 23, 2011

    So glad that you are doing well. I have been thinking of you and will continue to do so. Take care.

    Reply
  21. Alberta in N GA

     /  May 23, 2011

    this is really good news… best of luck and you should be feeling fine really soon so you can keep with your BOM.

    Reply
  22. Jean Froelich

     /  May 23, 2011

    So glad to hear that the surgery was a success. Will continue to pray for you. I feel like I know you through quilting.
    Jean

    Reply
  23. I am so happy for you and God Bless!

    Reply
  24. Maureen

     /  May 23, 2011

    So glad to hear everything went well, Sheryl!

    Reply
  25. Joyce

     /  May 23, 2011

    Sheryl, thanks for bringing us up to date. Had been wondering about you.
    Continued prayers for a quick recovery and good days ahead.

    Reply
  26. Hi Sheryl, Im so happy for you. praying for a quick recovery for you.
    take it easy.

    Reply
  27. Mildred Andrlik

     /  May 23, 2011

    I’m glad your surgery turned out so good. I’m going through my third chemo right now for breast cancer. You’d think it would take the hint and stay away. But, I guess not. I have to be on treatment until February 2012. I keep telling my oncologist that I intend to live until age 90, and he just gives me a funny look.
    I hope things turn out keep right for you. God bless.

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  May 27, 2011

      Hi Mildred. Prayers that your chemo is effective. 🙂

      Reply
  28. Lynnk50

     /  May 23, 2011

    That’s wonderful news! Praying for a speedy recovery and complete cure!!

    Reply
  29. Muchas felicidades por lo bien de la operación te deseo una prnta recuperación besossss de Rosa.

    Reply
  30. Tea

     /  May 23, 2011

    I’m glad your surgery was successful. May you have a speedy recovery

    Tea

    Reply
  31. Barb in MI/FL

     /  May 23, 2011

    Sheryl, the news of Dr Lee saving most of your right kidney is wonderful. My DH had a kidney removed in the mid-1990’s with no chemo or radiation follow-up and he’s doing wonderfully. May you continue to heal as well!

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  May 27, 2011

      Thanks for the note Barb. Best wishes for your DH’s continued good health!

      Reply
  32. Lisa

     /  May 23, 2011

    Praise the Lord! That sounds great. Praying for your continued recovery.
    Lisa in Alabama

    Reply
  33. Peggy

     /  May 23, 2011

    I had renalcarcinoma almost 25 years ago. I had to have my left kidney removed. At that time radiation & chemotherapy did no good. I still see my urologist but no recurrence. I truly think the most important thing is your frame of mind and trust in your doctor and the plan you take. Think positive.

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  May 27, 2011

      Thanks Lisa and Peggy (and everyone!).

      Peggy, thank you so much for sharing about your cancer. Best wishes for continued good health!

      Reply
  34. Jackie

     /  May 24, 2011

    I’m so happy it’s over for you and your on the road to recovery. Take time to heal yourself and you’ll be back to your old self in no time.

    Reply
  35. Niki Fields

     /  May 24, 2011

    God is so GOOD! It often takes something major for us to slow down and realize just how awesome He really is! So glad you are going to be okay. You had us all worried there, but looks like you really did have the Great Physician with Dr. Lee in that operating room! We will keep you on our prayer list! Take good care of yourself!

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  May 27, 2011

      Thanks Niki. It’s good to hear from you. Prayers are always welcome. Hope you’re doing ok.

      Reply
  36. Scarlett

     /  May 26, 2011

    Great news! Thanks for sharing. Prayers for your speedy recovery going up.

    Reply
  37. Pamela

     /  May 27, 2011

    Give yourself a break. surgery coupled with the anxiety over the diagnosis sucks it right out of you. As someone who had stage 3 Breast Ca I can recall the moments—but that was 25 yrs ago!!! so you’ll move back into the mainstream soon.

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  May 27, 2011

      Wow Pamela! 25 years is remarkable. I know you’re thankful every day. Take care.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7