Louie & The Red Head Lady

Do you watch Food Network?  I don’t but my niece Faith could watch it 24/7 and be just as happy as a clam. You may think I’m rambling on as usual but this really does wind up making sense in the end.

A while back my good friend Rhoda and I had a friendly wager on the SEC Championship game.  The winner was to be treated to lunch by the loser.  Since I’m an Auburn fan you might have guessed that I won the wager.  🙂

Hammond has some great places to eat but I was doing a little research on fun places we could go to in the Mandeville area and came across this place called “Louie and the Red Head Lady”.  Sounds kind of funky, huh?

Vanessa asked me last week if I had ever heard of it and I said yes and that their menu looked interesting.  It turns out that Faith had been watching an episode of Diners, Drive-In’s, and Dives on Food Network and this restaurant was featured.

We took a drive this past Saturday for lunch and it was wonderful!  Mother and I each had the Seafood Salad.  Chris had the Fried Shrimp/Catfish combo.  Vanessa had soup and crabcake with a house salad.  Faith had a Club sandwich.  We had the Fried Green Tomato appetizer…..oh my!  Each slice of fried tomato was topped with a large boiled shrimp and served with homemade Remoulade sauce.  Yummy is not the word!

We saw Po-Boys piled high with fried catfish and fried shrimp.  They looked so fine.

We’re definitely going back.  While we were there we had the pleasure of meeting Louie’s wife Ginger (the red head lady) and had our picture taken with her.  This picture isn’t great by any means but it’s all I have to share.  I really need a hair cut and color.  I don’t know why Chris insists on clenching his teeth when pics are taken. And even though it looks like I poured my Diet Coke on my shirt….I didn’t.  Lol.  Just a weird, unexplainable shadow.

Unfortunately, we don’t have pictures of our food.  We were too busy eating it.

Ginger aka "The Red Head Lady"

Hey Judy…..maybe we can sneak away one day to Louie’s for lunch when you come down in April.  🙂

They serve breakfast until 12 noon so if you don’t want breakfast, you need to wait until noon to go.

Oh….Rhoda and I wound up at Jacmel Inn for our lunch and it was delish!  Thanks Rhoda!

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Rita Millican

     /  February 16, 2011

    We live in Covington and pass by that place all the time but hadn’t tried it yet.
    Now we will. Sounds yummy! Thanks.

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  February 18, 2011

      You might want to give it a try. Is that the Covington location you are near. We might have to try it too.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7