New Chicks

I must have SUCKER written across my forehead because when I went to the Feed/Seed store the other day to pick up some “Rooster Booster Pick No More” lotion, I walked out with 8 adorable new baby chicks.  They were entirely too cute.

Never mind the fact that we already have:

5 White Leghorns

5 Black Copper Marans (including 3 roosters…remember when I said I didn’t want any roosters?)

4 Ameraucanas

8 Black Stars

So, can you tell me what I was thinking?  Lol.  Don just shook his head.  🙂

We now have 4 more Ameraucanas and 4 Light Brahmas.

Baby Light Brahma and Ameraucana Chicks

Aren't they cute?

Exploring their future home. They are actually kept in an enclosed area with a heat lamp to keep them warm.

Pretty little feathers

I just love the markings on these little chicks.  However, they won’t look anything like this when they’re grown.

In November, we bought 6 Black Copper Maran chicks and I meant to post pictures of them.  For some reason, I can’t find my pics of the babies, but this is what they look like now.

Black Copper Maran Rooster & Pullet

Big Man On Campus

These roosters are so funny.  They start crowing when I talk to them but run wildly if I approach their run.

I’m thinking about keeping the two pullets and one of the roosters in one tractor together so we can raise some biddies even though I said I wasn’t interested in raising our own.

These are the French standard….meaning that they have feathered shanks.  They’re a fairly rare breed of chicken here in the states according to what I’ve read about them.  They lay dark chocolate colored eggs.

We’ll put the other two roosters in with the other girls so they can act as a sentinel to warn us if anyone or anything is around that shouldn’t be.

Here’s the “unusual” looking chicken tractor Don built for them.   We have another one of these for the Leghorns.  I have to admit that it does look a little strange but Don can hook the real tractor to it and move it for them to have a fresh supply of grass & bugs.

Chicken Tractor

The run is completely enclosed with dog pen wire.  The roosts are inside the tin enclosure so they can hide and be out of the weather.  The nest boxes are on the back under the red arrow.  The lid is opened there by the arrow and it is *heavy*.  I can barely open it to get eggs out so it’s doubtful anything other than another human or a bear could get in the cage with them.  Thank goodness we don’t have any bears (as far as I know).  🙂  We do, however, have questionable humans in the vicinity.

More chickens in the future?  Yep….I’m going to the feed store to pick up some Silver Laced Wyandottes tomorrow.  Well………I have to go get feed so I may as well get some of the new babies they have coming in.  😉

Previous Post
Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. Sooo cute!! It’s okay to be a sucker….grin. You’ll enjoy them.

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  February 13, 2011

      It will be fun watching them grow. These chicks have feathers on their shanks/feet.

      Reply
  2. What a neat tractor! The babies are so cute. You’re going to make me want some! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Quilting Tizzy

     /  February 13, 2011

    I really need to stay out of that feed store….especially this time of year.

    Reply
  4. Joyce in OH

     /  February 13, 2011

    Thanks for sharing. They are adorable. Have never raised chickens but do enjoy seeing them.

    Reply
  5. Quilting Tizzy

     /  February 13, 2011

    We love our chickens. They are so much fun to watch and they lay eggs that make yummy cakes. Lol.

    Reply
  6. quiltapillow

     /  February 14, 2011

    Na—- Your only problem is like the rest of us. We like the colors and go for it, even for those who just collect pretty fabric. Chicks are colorful… Hard to turn down. We’re in the same boat. HA HA.. We love the colors.

    Reply
  7. Nancy

     /  February 14, 2011

    Oh, I hope you post lots of photos while they are growing up…I love to watch them grow and change, plus it’s fun to get to know them. Can’t wait to see the next new babies. I looked at the picture of an adult Silver Laced Wayondotte and they are just beautiful. Thanks so much for sharing the pictures with us. Have fun with the new babies!!! Hugs…

    Reply
  8. justquiltin

     /  February 15, 2011

    And which one did you name after me?????? 🙂

    Reply
  9. Lynn

     /  February 18, 2011

    o.m.G.!!! I am a person who goes to the fair just to see the poultry exhibits. Good on you! I keep trying to figure how we can have some chickens on our tiny bit of land along with our four dogs (lol!).

    Reply
  10. Quilting Tizzy

     /  February 18, 2011

    Hmmm….the dogs might pose a problem as they might like to terrorize the chickens. There’s a fabulous small coop on the page listed below. I wish I had a large one that looks like this!

    http://www.workdaychickenpictures.com/workdaychickenpictures/Chickens_And_Gardens_Blog/Entries/2010/9/19_A_yard_for_the_coop.html

    Reply
  11. Does it require a lot of work to care for the baby chickens?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7