Week Two—The Bucket List

This is a “Don’t Do This” post.

I am still trying to figure out why I “thought” I should do this when I clearly should have known better.

On this quilt, I wanted to be able to do the borders without having to start/stop so I decided to quilt the top/bottom borders as I did the rest of the quilt and then turn it so the long side borders would be horizontal as I worked.  For some reason when I took the quilt off the frame to turn it to do the long borders, I trimmed the top/bottom.

I’m working on attaching binding on the quilt before I take it off the frame.  It’s not so hard but I still need to work on my technique.  It would have been much easier if I hadn’t trimmed so closely.

Yikes! Not much there to hold on to.

And if that side wasn’t bad enough—take a look at the left side!

Oh, No!!!!!

Let me tell you, there is absolutely no way to put a side-clamp on that!  So what did I do to stabilize the side for stitching?  I had to pull the edge taut and pin to the back roller.  I got it done and now I’m hand stitching the binding down.  Then I’ll put a label on the back & it will be finished!  This is quilt top #6 on my UFO list.  I’ll post a picture of the finished quilt in a few days.

What was I thinking?????

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Mysi

     /  January 26, 2011

    Live n’ Learn right? That is how we perfect things. 🙂 HUGS Sheryl.

    Reply
  2. Niki C. Fields

     /  January 26, 2011

    Sheryl,
    I think anyone who sews, quilts, knits or crochets has made that mistake at one time or another. I’m sure your cover-up of the wrong cut will be beautiful because you’re hand stitching! If you sell your quilts you can get more money for the exta work! Anyway, im sure it will be beautiful! I crochet and a short “cut” doesn’t usually work out so well! Niki

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  January 27, 2011

      Hi Niki. First, please tell Ricky I’m sorry I missed his birthday. 🙂

      The binding worked out ok but it was a struggle on the left side because there was absolutely nothing to grip to stabilize it. Lol. I bet I won’t do that again….maybe. 🙂

      Take care!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7