Sleeping on the Job

I belong to a few lists dedicated to machine quilting.  Some are mostly for longarmers but they let us short-armers hang around.  🙂  Some are for mid-armers and short-armers.  They are all great places to learn about machine quilting.  A lot of what they talk about on the longarm lists is helpful to me.

A while back, someone was asking about how to compensate for uneven areas in quilts.  Some quilters talked about putting different weight items on parts of the quilt to compensate for sagging in other areas….you know…level out the quilt.    Sounds like a smart idea to me, but I’m not sure this is what they meant:

Buttons

She’s a really pretty cat but is also pretty persnickity.  For example: she won’t let you pick her up and hold her if you’re sitting on the sofa or in a regular chair nor can you hold her and walk around with her.  She will scratch you to ribbons.

However, she begs to be held like a baby whenever I’m sitting at the computer or sewing machine and will go to sleep in my arms while I try to type or sew.  She belongs to Chris but she follows me around like a puppy….all over the house and outside.  Wherever I am, you will find Buttons in close proximity.

We call her BB---Buttons B.

A few minutes after I moved her from the quilt, I heard stuff hitting the floor.  Buttons was in the stack raking all the stuff out on the floor.

Get this stuff out of my way!

Just a wee bit crowded

Don says cats are tiny little women in miniature fur coats.  😉

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Vanessa Spencer

     /  January 25, 2011

    How cute.

    Reply
  2. I’m a cat person but don’t have one at the moment “-( This post really cracked me up. I’m sure it will bring me smiles all day.

    Reply
  3. patchkat

     /  January 25, 2011

    BB is a cutie. Cats are drawn to the sewing room…and a quilt frame with a quilt is a purr-fect hammock! I spent years fighting Purr-C off the handquilting frame…and now, it’s Sassy and Muckley who think they need to snuggle down in a stretched quilt. Like you, I don’t think these are the weights the quilting lists were speaking of!

    Reply
  4. Quilting Tizzy

     /  January 25, 2011

    I can’t seem to convince her of that. Lol. She loves to go outside except she doesn’t like this cold weather at all. As soon as I open the door and cold air hits her nose, she backs up. Right now she’s curled up on the floor by my feet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7