The Bucket List

That’s the name of the challenge our guild is doing this year.  I couldn’t remember the name but Jan reminded us at our meeting this month.

I talked a little about this challenge on a previous post.  I don’t remember all the details and can’t locate the minutes that list them.

The idea is to choose a quilt project/skill/whatever that we want to learn more about and improve on throughout this year….our own personal quilting Bucket List  We are to choose someone who is an expert in that area and use their books/teachings to guide us….a mentorship that doesn’t require that person to participate.  We just use them for inspiration.

I have an original Grace Machine Quilt frame with a Juki TL98E.  The frame is always up and the Juki never comes off.  I can do a Queen size quilt on this frame but I have to be really careful about the depth of the pattern I use as the throat of my machine is only 9 inches.   With the space I lose with the quilt roll, I can usually safely quilt a pattern under 5″.   I can do basic meander and stippling “ok” and I can follow simple pantographs but I’ve got so far to go!

Grace Machine Quilt/Juki

Hopefully, one day I’ll get a bigger set-up but for now I want to learn how to better use what I have.

I haven’t yet chosen my “mentor” but my Bucket List is to become more knowledgeable about short-arm quilting and to become a better quilter.   I’ve only found one person who is a national teacher for short-arm frame quilting….Wenda Coburn.  Kathy from Kathy Quilts has a nice DVD about short-arm quilting.  There are many big names for long-arm quilting and as short-armers we should be able to use many of the skills they teach.

I’ve got a few DVD’s and will be studying them. Here’s what I have:

Pajama Quilter Reloaded DVD/Workbook by Dawn Ramirez

Pajama Quilter Rethreaded DVD/Workbook by Dawn Ramirez

Grand Finale` DVD by Ricky Tims

Shortarm Machine Magic from Kathy Quilts

Emma Rae’s Designs from Kathy Quilts

Here’s where I need your help—I need your opinion about whose work I need to study and which DVD’s/books I need to add to my library AND who I should choose as my mentor. Leave a comment on this post with your recommendations and I’ll enter your name for a drawing for an unused book (from my personal library.

To be eligible, your comment must include a machine quilting DVD/book recommendation and/or name of a possible mentor in this area.  Sorry, but the drawing is limited to US or Canadian addresses.  🙂  I’ll use a random number generator to select the winner at 5pm cst Friday, January 22, 2011.  Comments after that time are not eligible.  One entry per person.

So, put your thinking caps on and let me know who/what resources will help me become a better quilter!

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. I think Diane Gaudinski’s – Guide To Machine Quilting and Sue Nicholas’ – Machine QUilting- A Primer of Techniques are great resources. I have not read Wanda Coburn’s Guide to Short Arm Quilting, but I know she uses a quilt frame and a woman I met at a LQS swears it is the best book on quilting she has ever used.

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  January 19, 2011

      Thanks so much. I’ve started an Excel sheet and added these.

      Reply
  2. Bette

     /  January 19, 2011

    Gosh you have some great choices to choose from but at this moment I am knid of in to Ricky Tims

    Reply
  3. I think you should go with Dawn Rameirez. It seems like she is the easiest one to follow and learn from as she also has work books available to follow. I also just plain like the name of her books.

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  January 20, 2011

      Aren’t her DVD’s & workbooks wonderful? I have both of them and today I’ve been studying PQ Rethreaded. I’ve done several of the patterns and they’re so easy after watching her and following the workbook! Yes, she would be a great one to study.

      Reply
  4. Barbara Stanbro

     /  January 20, 2011

    Oh my gosh. Freemotionquilting.blogspot.com can’t be beaten. I’ve learned so much from Leah Day.

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  January 20, 2011

      You’re right Barbara. Leah’s site is one of my favorites and she would make a great one to follow. I pretty much have to go to the local coffee shop where I take my laptop. It’s really hard to watch video’s at home…slow…slow…slow dialup. It might just be worth a trip or two….you know…force myself to have a PJ’s coffee. 🙂

      I’m going to see if I can make her site a click-to link in this reply.

      Leah Day Free Motion Quilting

      Reply
  5. patchkat

     /  January 21, 2011

    http://www.sharonschamber.com/shopping%20cart/longarm/Longarm.htm

    Sharon has been my “mentor” with her beautiful feathers and freemotion. I don’t get anywhere close to her quality, but she keeps me wanting to try harder!

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  January 21, 2011

      Yes, she does beautiful work. I’m a long way from being able to do any kind of feathers. Lol. I tried some the other day and they were pit-i-ful. 🙂

      Reply
  6. Patsy Thompson has some wonderful books and DVDs as well as free machine quilting patterns on her blog. Thanks for the chance!

    Reply
  7. Cari Jimison

     /  January 21, 2011

    Martha Milne in England has a DVD made with her Juki and a frame she and her husband built, The New English Quilter: http://www.machinequilter.co.uk/welcome-to-machinequilter She used to pop in on a yahoo group I belong to. I have watched her youtube videos when she first started posing them. She can do amazing things with her machine on the frame.

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  January 21, 2011

      Thanks for posting a comment Cari. I think I’ve seen one of her YouTube videos. I need to check her site out.

      Reply
  8. I took a set of workshops by Jamie Wallen – he was terrific! He offers his workshops on DVD, as well. http://www.jamiewallen.citymax.com/home.html

    For feathers, you can’t beat practicing on a whiteboard. I love quilting feathers – I do an all-over feather meander that is fun, and looks pretty when it’s done. The best think I did to practice that motion was LOTS of whiteboard practice (and it’s also what I would doodle on a piece of scrap paper during meetings :> )

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  January 21, 2011

      Hi Connie! I would love to be able to do feathers. I’ve got a whiteboard in the barn. I’ll retrieve it tomorrow so I can start practicing on it. I’ve got some markers.

      I’ll check out Jamie’s web site. I’ve heard of him. I would love to be able to take some classes or just spend some time with someone who knows what they’re doing. 🙂

      Thanks for leaving a comment!

      Reply
  9. Marilyn

     /  January 22, 2011

    Try some of the Pam Clarke books and videos. I learned so much from her when she had her shop here. Her website is http://www.homestitches.com She does the design with lines–and sometimes that is a good way to go especially with individual blocks.

    She also uses a childs magnetic board to practice on–the type with a separate pen. I got one and it works like a charm. Draw and erase. 🙂

    Reply
  10. Quilting Tizzy

     /  January 22, 2011

    Thanks for the suggestion Marilyn. I’ll look at her site later today. After having tension fits earlier today, I’m finally back in the groove and almost having too much fun to sleep. 🙂 Tell Chuck hello for me!

    Reply
  11. I’d go with Dawn Ramirez. She’s easy and her designs are all adaptable for size. H

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  January 22, 2011

      Thanks for leaving a comment. 🙂 I do love her work. I’m trying out her McSpire and floopy leaves designs on a quilt now. Of course mine is a long way from looking as good as hers but I’m making progress. 🙂

      Reply
  12. Penny Anderson

     /  February 22, 2011

    I have the same frame as you but my machine is a Janome 1600 series. I bought my setup as a package deal but did not realize there was no instruction for short arm quilting! I am thinking of investing in Kathy Barlow’s book on short arm quilting- it is $47.00 for a downloadable version. I have also been to Wenda’s website also. Love Schamber”s site but I have learned more on the short arm resources right here on your blog spot! So thank you for that! And I think I will check out the pajama lady.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7