What’s On My Design Wall Today?

Let’s try this again…..I’ve already written this post once and saved the draft and published it but it’s gone????  What gives WordPress?

I haven’t done a very good job at posting what’s on my design wall every week but one of my goals is to post at least 3 times per week.  The challenge will be to see if I can actually do it.  🙂

I’m still working on my 4-Patch Stacked Posies quilt and am making some progress.  I made 42 sashing units last night and cut all the cornerstones.  I don’t know what I was thinking though because in whose world but my own would someone think 42 sashing units would be enough for 63 blocks?   Mrs. Sparkman (our math teacher in high school) would be *so* disappointed!

Late last night I re-calculated what I need and this morning I cut the rest of the strips while I was waiting for Chris to leave for work.  These strips are little buggers.  The red is only 1″ wide and the yellow is only 1-1/2″ wide.   It sure looks like a lot of sewing and boring sewing at that.

I think I’ll sew some strips and then sew some sashing units to blocks to break up the monotony.  Sounds like a plan to me.

Here’s what my design wall looks like today.  I really like the way this quilt is working up.

4_Patch Stacked Posies with sashing

What are you working on today?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. It may be boring sewing but it sure is pretty results.

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  January 10, 2011

      Thanks Charlene. I got all the strip sets sewn & pressed today! WooHoo!

      Reply
  2. Barb in MI/FL

     /  January 10, 2011

    This is gorgeous, Sheryl.

    Reply
  3. Your stacked posies are cute. I have the pattern and a mardi gras fabric to try it out…..one of these days….

    Reply
  4. You’ll have to listen to a book on tape or something to finish up the boring sewing! It’s a beautiful quilt!

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  January 16, 2011

      Glad you like it Kathy. I got them all done today! I probably would have taken 3 days to do them if I was trying to listen to a book. Lol.

      Reply
  5. You must have had a plan to make the 42 make it to 60+blocks… and then forgot it- right? Becasue I am sure you did the math RIGHT the first time LOL

    The quilt is lovely!

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  January 12, 2011

      DH tells our son that Mom is “always” right. Lol…unfortunately, this time I wasn’t. 🙂

      Reply
  6. I like the boring sewing, it gives me time to think of what I want to work on next. But even if you sewing is boring, your quilt sure isn’t. That is enough color to wake anyone up. I love it.

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  January 12, 2011

      Thanks Gari. I’m glad you like it and it is certainly bright! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7