January UFO

Judy L. drew #6 for this month’s UFO challenge so I’m working on my Northcott “High Tea” 4 Patch Stacked Posies (HD Designs).  All the blocks had already been sewn.  I just need to decide with what and how I’m going to set them.

I bought this fabric at Zook’s in Intercourse, PA when I was working a travel nurse assignment in Lancaster, PA back in 2002-2003.  I bought several yards (?6?).  I love this stuff and it was perfect for this pattern.  It makes beautiful kaleidoscope blocks.

Want to see what the fabric looks like?

Northcott “High Tea” #2023

I’m planning to do a pieced sashing for the setting similar to the one the pattern shows…..it would surely help if I could locate my pattern but since I can’t, I drew the setting diagram in EQ7.

I have to be honest and say that in my view, this patterns illustrations/instructions leave a lot to be desired.  Don’t be afraid to try one though.  If you’ve ever done a Stack and Whack (Bethany Reynolds), then you can do this pattern too.   I can’t elaborate any further on how to make it because I don’t want to infringe on their copyright.  I would direct you to the page at HD Designs for this pattern but alas, there are no pictures of it????  I did find a shop where you can buy it and there’s a picture on this page:

Havasu Quilts

I’ve already printed the fabric yardage and will check out some options at the quilt shop tomorrow (today, actually).  I’ve got a perfect golden yellow Moda print but the tiny rosebuds are the wrong color.  I’d love to be able to use that.  I’ve also got a sage green Moda Marble that is a perfect match for the light green.

Here’s what my design wall looks like tonight:

4-Patch Stacked Posies

Here’s a close-up of one of the blocks:

4-Patch Posies Block

If I can just get the setting right, this is going to be a gorgeous quilt!  Cross your fingers!

 

 

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Janet Parde

     /  January 8, 2011

    Beautiful fabric! The blocks are great. I remember you guys talking about doing that pattern back-when but never did one of that particular type. I’ve done the Stack and Whack. Took me hours of fretting after I had cut the repeats to cut the diamonds: I was scared spit-less that I would mess it up, lol!

    Reply
  2. justquiltin

     /  January 8, 2011

    It’s going to be gorgeous. Havasu Quilts is the quilt shop in the city where my parents live. 🙂

    Reply
  3. It’ll be great! Is there a pattern out there?? I’d love to take a look. 🙂 I think it’d be fun!

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  January 10, 2011

      The link to a site where you can buy the pattern is in the post. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7