Judy L’s 2011 UFO Challenge

I’ve got so many quilts that need to be finished so I need a little motivation to get me going on the right path….and to stay on that path.  Judy L. has challenged us to finish some UFO’s this coming year and I like the way she has set it up.  We’re to choose 12 quilting projects we want to finish and number them 1-12.  Each month, Judy will randomly select a number and that corresponding quilt is the one we’ll work on.

I’ve got lots of finished quilt tops just waiting to be quilted and who knows how many other UFO’s in various stages of completion.

Twelve projects just won’t make the goal I need by October, so I’m going to set aside 12 tops that I really want to finish and 12 other UFO’s.  When Judy pulls a number, I’ll finish my UFO with that number and choose one of those tops to put on the frame and quilt/bind.

Sounds like I’ve got a busy year coming up doesn’t it?

When I get my UFO’s and quilt tops pulled, I’ll add a post so you can see how my year is going to shape up.

A few quilt tops I *think* will make the list are:

1. LHS Reunion

2. Toast to Texas

3. Millennium Time in a Bottle

4. It’s Not VooDoo…It’s Merely Mysterious

5. Bears in the Penthouse (from Judy L’s Bears in the Farmhouse Quilt-Along)

6.Eye of the Storm

7. You’ve Got That Celtic Feeling

8.  All Stacked Up

Edit:  I just added 4 more quilt tops to make my list “legal”.  🙂

9.  Burma Shave

10.  4-Patch Stacked Posey

11. I Wanna Be Loved Bayou Swap

12.  Texas Style Swap

That means I have to be a busy girl this coming year!  On this page you can see some of the swap blocks I’ve got that I can work with.  Take a look and make suggestions as to which sets you think I need to use for one of these 12 UFO’s.   Tell me what you think.

For anyone who is waiting for Border Option #3—it will probably be January before it makes it to the top of my list.

So—–how many of you are going to join me over at Judy’s challenge?

Next Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Janet Parde

     /  December 19, 2010

    I don’t think I will be joining the challenge. I have mine in order of importance, so I will see how well you do!

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  January 10, 2011

      Ah, but see Janet….you’re so much more organized than I am so I *need* to be accountable to someone else. Lol.

      Reply
  2. Carol Morgan

     /  December 20, 2010

    My You’ve Got That Celtic Feeling is one of my UFO’s the top is done but need to get it quilted and done. I need to make a list like you did,and get busy finishing them.

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  January 10, 2011

      I think having the accountability of a list helps. Wishing you much success with finishing some of your projects. I want to see your Celtic Feeling when you get it done.

      Reply
  3. What a great list! I just joined the challenge and I’m looking forward to following along with everyone’s challenge.
    Cheers,
    Dionne

    Reply
  4. justquiltin

     /  December 26, 2010

    Hmmmm.. I think you need to use the chicken blocks for one of the projects you need to finish. You finish yours and I’ll work on mine. LOL My chickens are still just a stack of blocks also.

    Reply
    • justquiltin

       /  December 26, 2010

      And looking at your list again, the really really scarey thing is more than half of what is on your list could just as easily be on my list tho not all of mine have made it to the top stage. ROFLOL

      Reply
      • Quilting Tizzy

         /  January 3, 2011

        You know….that’s true! I bet we could say the same thing vice/versa. Lol.

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7