Is anywhere safe anymore?

Warning: Rant ahead!

Friday afternoon, someone kicked in the door of our next door neighbor’s home. They stole TV’s and other electronics and made a mess. The police told him “this is an every day thing”.

It has made me very uneasy because we have people frequently stopping to see if we want to sell this or that or if we need someone to haul away our junk metal, etc. They’re not interested in buying anything. They’re not interested in doing any kind of lucrative work. They’re casing a future burglary site.

Last week someone rang the front door bell. No one comes to our front door. The man standing in the yard wondered if a car by the barn is for sale, how much, does it run, etc. Here’s what I think. He didn’t want to buy the car. He was trying to determine if someone was home so he could break into our house.

I used to not answer the door when someone knocked or rang the bell but I’m afraid to not let it be known there are people inside the house. Seems the new thing is to knock and if no one answers, then they kick the door down.  The actual terminology now is “home invasion”.

This afternoon, our neighbor from across the road came over to say he had seen 2 men stealing things from our side yard and throwing them in the trunk of their car. He had called the police so I called Don. The deputy got here and started asking questions. Don got home and started pointing out where things had been and what had been taken.

I don’t have a doubt in this world that the report (a few words jotted down in a little notebook) will be the end of it. Does this mean I’m jaded? Maybe. But I think I’m entitled to that opinion and here’s why.

Last year just before Christmas someone stole Don’s vintage truck while it was parked at our barn….in easy viewing distance of our home. He filed a report. No one from the sheriff’s office ever, ever, ever investigated…never contacted us by phone….never came to our house….nothing. Don took a copy of this picture of the stolen vehicle (Big Green) to the sheriff’s office to follow up on his report. Did anyone ever contact us or come to investigate? If you answered “no”, you would be right.

"Big Green"

I have absolutely no faith or trust in our parish law enforcement that is supposed to protect and serve. There is probably nothing in the world that will ever change that.  If this seems harsh….so be it.

The things that were stolen today were scrap metal and some of it was junk….but it was *our* junk. I’m sure a visit to the local scrap yard yielded enough money to buy a few drugs. They’ll be back.

After our neighbor’s break-in, I got concerned about losing my computer to a thief. I’ve got important files stored in it that can’t be replaced. So we went to Wally World and bought a 32G USB Flash Drive. I’m backing up my computer on it and will carry it with me so if we should have a break-in, I’ll still have my info.

I’ve got 2 smaller Flash Drives that I’ll use for other stuff. I’ll put my pictures on one and my EQ files on the other. Now, I just need to figure out how to back-up my e-mails and contact list.

Isn’t it unfortunate that we have to resort to this? At this point, I think it’s not a matter of *if* someone breaks into our home but rather *when* they will do it….and hopefully we won’t be injured or killed in the process.

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Peggy

     /  November 9, 2010

    We have had things happen in our area also, but our law enforcement has been on top of things. Several have been caught, but I noticed that they are now out of jail.
    My husband think this is just the start of things to come in the United States.

    I hope you and your family stay safe.

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  November 10, 2010

      I’m glad you’ve seen good results in your area. Law enforcement has to care…..they don’t care in our parish. It’s too much effort to actually *work* a crime.

      There were even footprints in the sand by the barn and the deputy said “footprints won’t do much good because I can’t take them with me”. WHAT????

      Reply
  2. Lynette

     /  November 9, 2010

    Yes its a sad world when you cannot trust to many people.

    Reply
  3. Mysi

     /  November 9, 2010

    Sheryl! My heart and thoughts to you and your neighbor! Hugs to you too btw. I’m sorry things are like that for you. Hope it changes soon…

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  November 10, 2010

      Thanks Mysi. It’s only going to get worse. Our world will never be the same post Katrina. It’s sad to say but it’s true. Our area has been flooded with criminals and spongers since then. The only job they have or want is to cruise the roads looking for things to steal.

      Reply
  4. Janet Parde

     /  November 10, 2010

    Not safe……..

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  November 10, 2010

      No, it’s not safe Janet. I was already leary of people and now this.

      I think the worst part of this is that we know we can’t depend on the police to help.

      Reply
  5. Joyce in OH

     /  November 10, 2010

    So sorry about your experience. It is unnerving. It can happen anywhere. The law officials are probably swamped with such things. But they don’t do too much to anyone if they do catch them at least around here. Neither do they do much to druggies when they are caught buying and selling. Until they get tough on crime, it will continue as usual. Guess it is another issue that needs pressure brought on.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7