Commissioned Work

In the last few months, I’ve been asked a few times if I would make a quilt for someone or an event. I’m flattered by the interest in my work but the short answer is “No”. For my blog readers: Do you do “quilts for hire”? What do you think the pro’s and con’s are?

Here are my basic thoughts about why I make quilts for myself and “chosen” friends/family only (no amount of coercion will tempt me to make a quilt if I don’t want to).

Sheryl’s Reasons For Not Making Quilts For Sale

I design quilts to satisfy my own creative urge….selfish as this seems…this particular thing in my life is “all about me”. 🙂 Everyone needs an “all about me”. This is mine. 🙂

I don’t like being limited to the tastes of others. 🙂 Example: I love red and will stick it in a quilt if at all possible. Not my problem if you don’t like or want red. 🙂

Most people who ask have no clue about the value of a quilt…time involved, skill, supplies, etc. When I design a quilt, it takes more hours than I can keep track of just to get the basic design done ( I don’t do too much simple stuff)….add to that even more hours and hours and hours for writing the pattern. And we haven’t even gotten to the fabric selection process, cutting, assembly, quilting, binding….on and on. 🙂

You can’t afford me and if you could….you would not want to pay my fee….Promise. 🙂

Our ideas of good design may not be in the same galaxy. Not saying your ideas aren’t good ones…they’re just not mine. 🙂

I simply don’t have the time. 🙂

I don’t like deadlines even though I truly do work better under pressure. 🙂

I just don’t want to. 🙂

Now that I’ve said all that, there may come a point in time that I decide to actually develop patterns for sale and launch myself as a quilt design business, write articles to submit to publications, write a book (I have several ideas for books), travel and teach….but for now…I’m not ready. I’m happy staying at home being a Wife and Mom.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Janet Parde

     /  August 23, 2010

    I think “no” covers it, but having said that, I want to be able to do what I want when I want and not to someone else’s expectations! I think you pretty much covered it all. lol

    Reply
  2. Lynette

     /  August 23, 2010

    Hi Sheryl, I think what you have said makes perfect sense to me. Only those that make quilts would know the time and money they cost. Lynette

    Reply
  3. Danette

     /  August 26, 2010

    When you do write your book, I will be one of the first to buy it. I have always admired your work. When you did your lecture/showandtell at the last Expo, people were hurrying through lunch so they would not miss it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7