LHS Class Reunion Quilt Update

I’ll bet you thought I had forgotten about the quilt or decided it just wasn’t going to happen.  Wrong.  🙂

I’ve been busy working on the quilt and there have been a few changes along the way.  I didn’t like the way the applique was working so I’ve made some adjustments to the pattern and decided it will be much easier and nicer to do machine applique.  I’d much rather have needle-turn but the deep V’s are just too hard with this one.

As I was cutting out two of the star blocks, I made a mistake and switched background and red.  Hmmm….getting pretty short of that background fabric to try to cut new blocks.  I like the mistake so it’s going to stay!

"mistake"

Judy L. had recently used the Gamecock block in a design and since the Gamecock was our mascot, it just seemed to be in the stars for me to use that block.  I had already constructed a block I truly love for that space but it had to be changed.  The problem was that the block is 13″ finished and Gamecock is a 5×5 grid pattern…..doesn’t compute very well does it?

I printed it off from EQ6 and after much fussing and fidgeting, I determined I needed a full 1/4″ seam allowance.  I love the block and only had to trim a hair in a couple places for a perfect size.

Gamecock Block

So, here’s what the quilt layout looked like the last time I shared a pic of it:

Previous layout

and here’s what it looks like now:

Wow!  Big change, huh????

Latest layout

Here’s the current layout in EQ6

Current EQ6 layout

All that’s left to do is finish the numbers, applique block and wrap up the assembly.  I’m putting all the sashing together as I work and the border is finished so most of it is already done.

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Myrlene (aka mimi)

     /  April 10, 2010

    Great job, Sheryl! It’s looking great! Can’t wait to see it at show and tell!

    Mimi

    Reply
  2. Joyce

     /  April 10, 2010

    Love to see the process and the progress. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  3. justquiltin

     /  April 10, 2010

    It’s going to be a great looking keepsake.

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  April 11, 2010

      I’m really enjoying the process of this quilt. I can’t wait to see if my old classmates like it too.

      Reply
  4. glen parks

     /  April 10, 2010

    Just beaut iful! I love your progress posts.

    Reply
  5. Dana Pellerin

     /  April 11, 2010

    Wow! I’m impressed. This quilt is beautiful and well designed. Good work. Keep on going girl. Dana P.

    Reply
  6. This is great! Thank you for sharing your wonderful blog and your enthusiasm for the art of quilting. Check out our blog at: http://www.aqsquiltnews.blogspot.com/

    Keep up the beautiful quilting!

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  April 21, 2010

      Thanks for taking a look at my blog! More quilting stuff will be coming soon as we travel a little further into our mystery.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7