What Makes People Tick?

Before I get to the “Full-Fledged” Rant that is coming up next (and remember that I can rant if I want to, rant if I want to, rant if I want to…you would rant too…wait that’s a song isn’t it?)….the last mini-rant regarding the shipping fee I paid has been resolved.  The store refunded the overpayment so all is well there.

Now….I guess you’re wondering what has my knickers in a twist tonight aren’t you?

We have a one acre pond in our back yard that is stocked with catfish and crappie (white perch), and a few carp.  We’re the ones who pay the upkeep on the pond.  We’re the ones who pay to keep it stocked.  It’s ours.   It does not belong to the public.

We used to allow a few people to fish in our pond but with the exception of maybe 3 people…everyone else abused that privilage and we no longer allow anyone to fish in it except personally invited…on-occasion—guests that we hand select.   There were 2 elderly brothers who are both gone now that were perfect gentlemen regarding use of the pond.  If they were still alive, they would be welcome to enjoy a day of fishing.  Our friend Rodney J. (Beth’s DH) has never abused use of the pond.

Whatever our reasons are for limiting access to our pond are  strictly up to us to decide.  We’re not taking a poll.  OK….so that’s the beginning of today’s story.

A man knocked on our front door late this afternoon.  No one who knows us knocks on the front door.  Don went outside and asked if he could help the man.  The man extended his  hand and introduced himself.  I stayed outside so I could hear and because I’m leary of anyone who stops (post-Katrina era… remember?).

The next thing I hear is the man asking about the pond and then I heard Don say “If that’s the way you want to take it” and then  Don came stalking back to the house and the man went to his vehicle.

So, Don had told the man we didn’t allow people to fish our pond.  (I think it was last summer I ran 2 men away who had parked in one of our driveways and made themselves right at home fishing within 50 yards of our house….when I asked what they thought they were doing…they proudly told me they were fishing!  What???)

Back to the story….The man countered Don with “If you were a man of God, you would let people  fish in your pond.  You would not turn them away.”

Since I’m really, truly trying to stop cursing, I’ll just say “What the hey???”.

And, since we’re in the process of surrounding the pond with 6′ chain link fence and the entire front border of the pond is already fenced…don’t you think that would be a clue that fishing is off limits????

I am constantly amazed at what people think is ok to do and what they think they are entitled to.

Rant over.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Well within your rights. We have people coming to the door all the time wanting to fish the bayou or go swimming. We steer them away as the bayou has too much dangerous junk for swimming (barbed wire fencing, glass, etc) and the water is too low for good fishing.

    We allow the neighbors free reign on our land along the bayou because this was theirs before it was sold and our home built. They do like we do…bring their grandchildren down to fish…and we’re all catch and release.

    Glad you’re sticking to your guns. There are certain legal liabilities that come to mind when people are hurt on your property. If they get hurt after scaling a 6 fence with “No Trespassing” signs posted, then they don’t have quite as many legs to stand on.

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  April 9, 2010

      We don’t even let the neighbors come over anymore. We used to until they brought their ice chests and beer and parked themselves on the deck. We had a large bug light on the deck so there was always light at night. They were having a great time, joking and laughing right outside our bedroom window and poor Don trying to sleep for work the next day. He cut the power to the bug light and bless their hearts…they came prepared….fired up their lantern and kept fishing! They finally packed up and left but that was the last time they were allowed to come over. We have different neighbors now but it’s just not worth the hassle and you’re right about liabilities.

      We used to let a friend of Don’s come to fish with the understanding that only he and his wife could come over. One Saturday, they brought all their siblings, nieces, nephews, parents, friends and just had a gay old time. There were cars everywhere. They even blocked my car in my drive. They were insulted when we said “no more”.

      How about the time I called the sheriff’s dept. on some kids who had sneaked in and parked their bicycles in the bushes. I made them throw the fish back. The deputy couldn’t believe I wasn’t going to let them keep the fish! Wonder if they went over the concept of “theft” and not encouraging illegal activity in his training? Obviously not.

      I could go on and on with more stories. It would never occur to me to ask someone I didn’t even know if I could fish in their pond. And if I did know them, I still wouldn’t ask. I was raised differently. Where do people think they should stop? Should I go ahead and offer these people a tall glass of iced tea and a freshly made chicken salad plate? How about some just-out-of-the-oven blueberry muffins made with blueberries I picked just for the occasion? Sheesh.

      Our home and property are our refuge.

      Thanks Susan for the support!

      Reply
  2. glen parks

     /  April 10, 2010

    Unbelievable! I agree with you. My property, my rules! No one comes to my yard, my dog is too big!

    glen and the Fabulous GREATER Swiss Mountain Dogs!

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  April 11, 2010

      We have actually considered getting a dog recently. We’re losing too much stuff lately. Since we’re now raising chickens, we’ll probably look at one of the breeds that’s “chick friendly”. Hopefully, it will bark loudly too.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7