Look What I’ve Gotten Myself Into

Most of my friends/family know I’m incredibly weird about eggs.  I eat them.  They just have to be totally, completely, no doubt about it done.  Nothing that resembles the inside of a jelly bean either.  I sent eggs back 3 or 4 times at a diner in Lancaster, PA when I was working up there….the last time I told the server not to bring them back unless they were completely cooked.  She just looked at me and in a bewildered voice asked “you mean, you don’t want them dippy”.  My answer in a honey, sweet southern drawl—“Hell No”.   Last time I went to that diner.  Hmmph.

And I don’t eat real eggs.  Rather…I don’t eat yard eggs…unless they’re baked or cooked into something else…cookies, cakes, bread, pies, etc.

I can eat them boiled and chopped in chicken/tuna/potato salad and I can eat them as deviled eggs but don’t give them to me fried, scrambled or whole boiled and expect me to eat them.  Can’t do it.  I have close friends who can attest to that fact.  😉

Yes, I know that is weird but that’s just the way it is.

So, you’re going to be really shocked when you see what we have.

Babies

I took this picture yesterday while they were in their temporary cage outside but it was way too cold for them so Don brought them into the house.  The cats are mystified.  Murphy and Molly Mae just lay on the back of the love seat and watch the chicken movie.  The cats think they’re in the balcony at the theatre.  🙂  The babies could care less.  Jet just looks at them and walks away.  Buttons is terrified.  I guess they make too much noise.  Not to worry.  The cats can’t get to them…the wire is too small and they can’t get the door open.

Supposedly, these are sexlinks…can’t prove it by me.  I really think I want some Ameraucanas…you know…the ones that lay green eggs.

You’re probably wondering why I wanted chickens..especially since I made Don get rid of the last ones he had (years ago).  Poor man just wanted some yard eggs to eat and I gave them away as fast as I could find someone standing still for longer than 5 seconds.

My main purpose is to have my own compost for the Square Foot Garden.  But I do a good bit of baking and those eggs will come in real handy for that.  And who knows….I may even get to where I can eat them in omelettes.  Only time will tell.

I’m on a quest to learn as much as I can as quickly as possible.  Wish me luck!  And if you have any words of wisdom, please feel free to share them.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Peggy

     /  March 23, 2010

    Maybe you should try a fluffy omelet that can be baked. The egg whites are beaten to give an airy texture.

    Don’t forget to crush the egg shells for the garden also.

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  March 23, 2010

      It will probably be a while before I can bring myself to fix an omelet with them but I’ll start saving the shells. Maybe I can mix store eggs with real ones and try an omelet with those.

      Reply
  2. Jane St John

     /  March 23, 2010

    chickens are good nd since all the chickens are on stricke and eggs are high they are letting people in columbia a city of 100 thousand have back yard chckens. Bringis back old memorioes eggs and chicks were my job o farm .

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  March 23, 2010

      My Granny Dorsey had chickens. I don’t remember the other Granny having any but I’m sure they did.

      Reply
  3. Doris Read

     /  March 23, 2010

    I loved having my chidkens and the eggs. This must have come from my grandmother. Almost every picture we have of her has either a cat, chicken or cow with her and she made her own clothing, quilts, kneedle work of all kinds, canned her food and worked in the veg. and flower gardens. What a person she was.

    I would have chickens now if I had someone to close them up at night in the winter. Its dark when I get home then and the critters come out and kill them.

    We had big red checkens, big white chickens, the small fuzzie kind, turkeys, ducks, geese, rabbits, a calf or two. The only problem is that they had to all be pets as no one could bring themselves to eat them!

    Have a great day, Doris

    Reply
  4. Quilting Tizzy

     /  March 23, 2010

    This is going to be an adventure for sure. Lol. We will have to close them up at night also as there is a fox pen behind our property and sometimes those foxes get out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7