More Time With Friends

It’s been a super busy week for me.  I started the week off designing and starting the LHS reunion quilt.  Wednesday evening was great fun with friends (see previous post).  Yesterday, we had our monthly Master Gardener meeting and stayed late to help start setting up for our annual Spring Garden Day at the Hammond Research Station.  I had the easy job.  I programmed the plant labels in the computer so Annie could print them last night.  Last year, we hand wrote all the labels.  It took several people several hours to get them all written.

Judy is teaching at a quilt event this week in Baton Rouge so this morning, Vanessa, Mother, and I drove to Baton Rouge to meet her for lunch at the Marriott.

Warning….Mini Rant ahead.  🙂

In the past the buffet in their restaurant has been good and the dining room packed with seminar attendees.  The food was terrible, terrible, terrible with the exception of the Tomato Basil soup and the salad.  The soup and salad were very good but it’s hard to mess up pre-mixed salad greens.  Who ever heard of serving “pre-battered, frozen” fried catfish in south Louisiana?  Isn’t that against the law?  In the very least, it’s insulting.  Besides that, did I mention that it was terrible?

The dining room was practically empty.  Shame on this once upon a time, nice restaurant to have fallen so far.  They certainly can’t blame it on their dining room staff.  The gentleman who served us was wonderful.

Maybe the organization that produces this quilting event should look for a different facility in the future.

Mini Rant over.  🙂

Anyway, I thoroughly enjoyed visiting with Judy for a little longer and I made a new friend who was taking her class.  Rick was very nice and even helped me with this new-fangled camera.  Thanks Rick!  Maybe we can plan a quilting day sometime soon!

And to top off a perfectly wonderful visit with Judy and her Mother, Bonnie Hunter joined us for lunch.

Judy on left, Bonnie on right

Judy is a great person to have as a friend and so, so talented.  I’ve never known anyone who could get as much done as she can.  She puts me in the dust when it comes to efficiency!  And she has a great sense of humor.  Should I tell the story about the short-sheeting?  Lol.

Bonnie is a lovely person and it was fun to meet her and spend a little time with her.  I’ve admired her quilting for years.  I think I first knew who Bonnie was years ago when we were both on Sunshine Quilts list online.  She’s doing a lecture tonight about her scrap-saving system and I am so sorry to have to miss it.

Thanks Judy & Bonnie for a nice visit.

Left to Right: Vanessa, Sheryl, Bonnie, Judy

After our lunch, we made a stop at Whole Foods to pick up a slice of Berry Chantilly cake.  I almost forgot I have it in the fridge!  I think I’ll head to the kitchen to get mine.  When I get that finished, I have cookies to make for Spring Garden Day tomorrow.  Master Gardener’s will be selling plants of all sorts.  There will be activities for children and lectures by Louisiana gardening notables and of course there will be a concession booth.

That’s it for tonight.  Toodles!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Hey Sheryl — It was a pleasure meeting you as well today and your entourage! Had a blast at lunch and yes, let’s plan a quilt day in the near future! I’d really like that! Judy and Bonnie were wonderful — I learned so much today at seminar!

    Reply
  2. That was the worst food I think I’ve ever had anywhere! The whole Marriott experience was bad! I’m in a Holiday Inn Express tonight and I’ll take them any day over Marriott after that stay in Baton Rouge!

    I’m so sorry we didn’t get to spend more time together. And, you and Rick cannot get together without me!!

    Reply
  3. Doris Read

     /  March 15, 2010

    I listened to Annie talking on the radio Friday morning and thought about you. I would have loved to go on Sat. but I have a hard time doing a lot of walking without being able to sit down. My back is now giving me pains ( as if I needed anything else hurting!) I hope you took pictures and that you will share them with us.

    Thanks, Doris

    Reply
  4. patchkat

     /  March 17, 2010

    Would love to have had the time to spend visiting with you and Judy! Hoping to see Judy in Abilene someday 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7