Gamecock Times at LHS

Livingston High School—Livingston, AL—1970.

A wild and crazy group of kids turned loose on the world!  What a scary thought.

Now, 40 years later we’re having a class reunion.  It will be wonderful visiting with old friends and catching up.

Since I’m a quilter, you know I had to come up with some way to make a quilt!  My favorite quilts are signature quilts so that was the first requirement.  Late last night, when I should have been finishing up the Mardi Gras quilt on the frame, I got hijacked by EQ6 and started working on a design.

I got out my old “Entre Nous” to see what kind of inspiration I could find.  I knew I wanted to use “LHS”, “1970”, “2010”, and “40” somewhere in the quilt.  I also knew I wanted lots of nice stars with centers that could be signed along with some plain blocks for signing.  Our team mascot was the “Gamecock” and I’ll be darned if I could find a good picture of one in the annuals but I wanted one of those in the quilt.  I did some searching to see what I could find and of course discovered there are a multitude of varieties of the bird.

I started drawing in EQ6 and eventually came up with a Gamecock design I like.  Time is short (our reunion is May 1st) so the quilt design had to be one with simple blocks that can be pieced quickly.  I like complicated borders so I chose a Celtic design that I’ve done before so it should be easy but will look pretty.

Our colors were black and red so the quilt is mostly black, red, off white with gold.

What do you think?  Can I get the top made in time for the reunion?

40 year high school reunion quilt

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Joyce

     /  March 8, 2010

    Sheryl,
    I love the quilt, very creative. What size will it be?

    Joyce

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  March 8, 2010

      It’s not a large quilt, Joyce. 52″ x 66″.

      Reply
  2. Love it! Is it made yet? 🙂 Yes, you can do it but it’s going to take a lot of quick sewing but . . yes . . do it!

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  March 10, 2010

      Hmmm…not quite ready but definitely in progress. Lol.

      Reply
  3. Quilting Tizzy

     /  March 8, 2010

    I got the border strips done this morning. I hope to get some of the stars done tonight.

    Reply
  4. Maureen

     /  March 8, 2010

    Great design, Sheryl! Of course you can get it done:-) Looking forward to seeing it!

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  March 10, 2010

      Thanks Maureen. I’ll be posting the progress so you can follow if you like. 🙂

      Reply
  5. patchkat

     /  March 12, 2010

    Sheryl, your quilt is fun and colorful! Yep, set your mind to it, you’ll get ‘er done! Nice work, girlfriend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7