New Pseudo-Mystery Project Coming

This project has been completed.

Last year I presented a mystery for Southern Samplers…the local guild I belong to and offered it here for TQP members and followers of my blog.  My friend Jan suggested a mystery with a twist this year and I’ve been scratching my head ever since.  🙂  She suggested a self-directed sort of mystery where I design a layout and give you some choices for what might go in certain areas of the layout.

It’s certainly been a challenge!  For me.  Lol.  I started working on this project a few months ago and I was almost ready to start posting it when all of a sudden…without any warning….EQ6 went crazy and I lost all my quilts.

I had to start over…from memory of my last drawing and what I could remember of the last quilt layout.

Enough of that…now for some details:

  • This is a self-directed Pseudo-Mystery.
  • Why is it called a Pseudo-Mystery?  Parts of it will be a mystery and parts will not.  You will have to make some choices along the way—or you can use the designs I am using in my quilt.
  • Size without borders:  42″  x  63″
  • Size with plain 4″ border — option #1:  52″  x  73″
  • Size with border option #2:  56″  x  78″
  • Size with border option #3:    54″  x  75″
  • I do not have sample quilts made because every one will be different!
  • Therefore—there are no specific, scientific or otherwise worldly listings of fabric requirements.
  • What does that mean?  You will need to be flexible in the amount of fabric you buy or use from your stash.
  • I will release at least one clue per month…probably more than one.
  • Clues are subject to removal after one month so make sure you do not miss one.
  • We all have life issues but…sorry….missed clues will not be e-mailed.  There’s just not enough time for that.
  • Feel free to share the link to my blog with others.  However downloaded/printed clues/instructions are not to be shared.  Please be respectful of copyright.

Watch for the “loosely-defined” fabric requirements and our first clue in the next post.

If you plan to join me for this adventure, leave a comment!  If you want me to include your name in a mailing list for notification be sure to give your email addy.

Looking forward to a fun time!

Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. TracyaR

     /  February 13, 2010

    This sounds like fun!!! Thanks

    Reply
  2. Janet

     /  February 13, 2010

    Sheryl, I will follow along, although it will be awhile before I can start it! I love your mysteries, so will attempt to catch up at some point. Please add me to your mailing list!

    Reply
  3. Joyce

     /  February 13, 2010

    Sheryl, please sign me on for the new mystery. I was so sorry I missed the one last year.

    Reply
  4. Bonnie Fish

     /  February 13, 2010

    Please include me on your email list for EQ and quilting related blogs.

    bonniequilts@theedge.ca

    Thanks,

    Bonnie

    Reply
  5. Ginger McLin

     /  February 13, 2010

    Yes, I will do my best to keep up and be successful. thank you !!!

    Reply
  6. Kay

     /  February 14, 2010

    Sheryl, I would like to follow along with you on the mystery quilt. Please add me to the mailing list for it. I read about your mystery on the EQ list.

    Reply
  7. Yvonne

     /  February 15, 2010

    You know I am in. Will see you at Mama’s.

    Thanks
    Yvonne

    Reply
  8. Esther Stinnett

     /  February 16, 2010

    Myrlene told me about the mystery quilt. I’m eager to give this a try and have my fabrics in mind.

    Reply
  9. Dana Pellerin

     /  February 18, 2010

    2/19/ 2010 I’m in also will try my best. Joined with the Southern Samplers Thanks Dana

    Reply
  10. Dana Pellerin

     /  February 18, 2010

    would like to try this mystery, thanks. Heard about it from Southern Samplers. Thanks Dana

    Reply
  11. Lynne McClure

     /  May 21, 2010

    Please add me to your mystery followers. Thank you for taking the time!

    Reply
  12. Dana Pellerin

     /  May 22, 2010

    this is really a mystery but fun just the same. I am anxious to see what everyone is designing.Surely no two will be the same, A mystery as well as a challenge. I’ve made my next six blocks and I’m ready for another six. Thanks again for including us in this fun mystery. DANA

    Reply
  13. Judy

     /  March 19, 2011

    Dear Sheryl
    Please include me for this fun mystery, I will try to start as soon as possible! Thanks and greetings from Switzerland

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7