You Never Know

how things you do affect others.  This isn’t another rant so don’t worry.  🙂

Several years ago….probably back in  2001,  I taught a beginner quilting class to a group of homeschool students.  We met once a week in the classroom at our local Hobby Lobby.  I had about 6 girls in the class and they were anywhere from around 9 years of age to high school senior level.

After the class was over, I lost touch with them because I left for a travel nursing assignment in Minnesota and then went from there to Maryland.  I don’t think I’ve seen any of them since that time although I gave up traveling to stay home to work instead.

Last weekend, I was in Hobby Lobby to purchase a bit of background fabric for some—yep—blocks for an internet swap hosted by my friend Denise.  After I had checked out and was headed out the door,  I heard someone call my name.  I feel badly because I didn’t recognize the lady calling out to me.  She recognized that I was trying to remember  and told me who she was and said she just wanted me to know that her daughter who had been one of my students is now married…..and has that quilt on her bed….and is busy making another quilt ….a baby quilt.  🙂

Even though I didn’t have time to talk to her (I had Chris and his girlfriend with me–yes–Chris has a girlfriend) that was such a special moment and just writing this post almost brings tears to my eyes.

Those few weeks I spent teaching those young girls how to quilt touched their lives….and mine has been touched as well.

siggysheryl

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7