Aye Yi Yi

I’m determined to learn how to use my Grace frame/Juki combo.  No, I mean it.  I’m going to master that beast!

But these pins are something else!  I read somewhere that corsage pins are great for pinning the quilt top/backing to the leaders.  And it’s true.  I just haven’t figured out how not to butcher my fingers in the process of pinning, quilting, unpinning.  These things are downright vicious.  I’m not kidding.  They look innocent don’t they?  Well, looks can be deceiving!

Corsage Pins

Corsage Pins

They really are handy for the purpose and can easily be found at places like Hobby Lobby or Michaels or even at your local florist.  But why didn’t I figure out that I need to weave the pin into the fabric so that the tip isn’t exposed for me to run my fingers into???  I’ve lost enough DNA from pin pricks that there could never be any doubt whose quilting room it is!  Hopefully, I will remember to put them in properly from now on.

Quilt pinned to take-up pole leader

Quilt pinned to take-up pole leader

I’m so glad to finally have this quilt done.  Now, I just have to do the binding and I’m going to try to get that done this week.  This is only a small picture and my quilting isn’t great for sure (the only thing I know how to do is meander)  but this is the only way I’m going to learn.  This design is from a book by Rita Hutchens called Totally Tubular.

We had a challenge on The Quilting Post several years ago and this was the pattern everyone had to use.  They also had to use a certain percentage of brown fabric.  I think we all agreed to call our efforts something like “Totally Insane”.  This design isn’t for the faint of heart but it’s certainly interesting!

When we were working on this challenge, Rita was gracious enough to join our private,  little list of players so she could offer help when we got stuck.  We got stuck a lot!  Lol.

Totally Tubular....or it is Total Madness???

Totally Tubular....or it is Total Madness???

This quilt has so many bias edges that it will probably never lie flat or be straight.  Oh well…

siggysheryl

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Looks great to me! Congrats on a finish! What a * cute * pincushion, lol. I’m doing blood sacrifice with the pins too…and my fingers are SORE. There has to be a less brutal way, ROFLOL.

    Reply
  2. Janet

     /  October 2, 2009

    Well, mine lays flat, so yours should stay that way, too!

    Reply
  3. Quilting Tizzy

     /  October 4, 2009

    It looks good from a galloping horse. Lol. I’ve got it bound and am considering putting it back on the frame…quilting with a different color and then taking the old quilting out. I’m just *not* satisfied!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7