Happy Birthday Daddy

Daddy would have been 66 –oops–76–today.  He’s been gone for over 4 years but I still think about him all the time.  He passed on so many things he loved to me.

He loved music and played the piano, organ, and accordian.  I love music but I gave up playing piano a long time ago.  I just don’t have the discipline it takes to be a good piano player.  Daddy was self-taught.  In his family of 7 children, money was always tight.  One brother got piano lessons and from what I understand Daddy would hide and watch and then sneak to the piano to play.  He was never happy to do “straight by the music” playing.  He always started and ended with a roll from bass to treble.  It was his hallmark so to speak.

We used to gather around the piano and sing as he played old songs from old hymnals…none of this stuff they sing in church these days.  We sang “Ivory Palaces”, “The Fight Is On”, “How Great Thou Art”, “Victory in Jesus”,  and many others.   He even for a time was the piano player in a gospel quartet when we lived in Kosciusko, MS.   Even after we moved to Alabama, we used to hop in the car and travel to a gospel singing hours away.  I located someone who actually has a postcard size picture of that quartet and she’s going to send me a copy.

He loved growing things.  Flowers were a passion.  He just seemed to have the right touch to make something grow and bloom.   Mother loves flowers too.  Between the 2 of them, I’ve developed a love of flowers also. I think he would be fascinated with my Square Foot Garden which btw has red tomatoes now!

Daddy was a football nut.  He loved to watch football and I think really liked college games more than pro.  I can recall many a cold night that we would drive out to a high hill so he could pick up a game on the radio station.  He would stack televisions on top of each other so he could watch more than 1 game at a time and he always had at least one radio playing with a different game.  Talk about early multi-vision.  Lol.

I like to watch football too.  I may not know what they’re doing but I still like to watch.  🙂

Daddy loved to fish.  He was never a hunter but he loved to throw a line out in the pond.  I was the oldest of 4 girls so I was the one who always went fishing with him.  When I was really little, he took me out on the creek bank one night and when we got home I was covered head to toe with mosquito bites.  Oh man, was my Mother mad!!!!

Several years ago, he expressed an interest in hand piecing a quilt top so I gave him several FQ’s for his birthday and Vanessa cut them up into squares for him.  He made several blocks for Chris…enough to make a quilt with.  They’re plain 12-patch blocks but they’re special.  I need to get that quilt finished.  Faith got blocks also but he never got around to making blocks for the other grandchildren.  He ran out of time and I think he just didn’t have the energy to do them all.

He was quite a talented man and he was a brilliant man.  He used to play bridge and he was amazing to watch.  After the first hand was played, he knew who held what cards and could even predict how they would be played.  I tried bridge for a while but it took much too much concentration for me to be good at it.  I did  play Rook though and loved it…Guess who else played Rook?  Lol.

To end this post, I’ll share a picture with you.  It’s Daddy when he was a young man…much too young to be married with a baby but there he was….holding me.

I love you and miss you Daddy.

siggysheryl

Oliver Kermit Chipley and baby Sheryl

Oliver Kermit Chipley and baby Sheryl

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Melba Anne Chipley-Peters

     /  November 24, 2009

    Just read the blog about Daddy. I too think of him often and miss him dearly. I remember going up to scratch hill to listen to the games, going with him to run the trot lines, going to all of those festivals to sell the plants. Man, that was alot of hard work but we did it to make a living. When they came out with satellite, he was in hog heaven because he got to switch channels all day long and watch all of them. Ok. I am gonna stop because I am going to cry. I miss hearing his voice answering the phone by just saying here is your mama.

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  November 24, 2009

      We ate at a local diner today that Daddy would have liked. They have old-timey chrome chairs and tables with red upholstery and *malts* on the menu!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7