What Makes a Great Blog?

I guess the answer to that question depends heavily on who you’re asking.  For me, a great quilting blog has a good mixture of:

1.  Quilty stuff you’re working on

2.  Snippets from your life

3.  Tutorials or info pages about how to do things

4.  Free patterns

5.  Links to other great blogs

I’m working up a hand-out to use along with a lecture about internet quilting.  I recently asked members of some online groups to share blogs/web sites they consider to be “must-see” and I got some good leads.  Some leads had nice patterns but no other info.  I’m not against people promoting their patterns/books/etc. but that’s not really what I’m looking for.

This isn’t meant to be a put-down on anyone who has a retail-only site so please don’t take it the wrong way.  Everyone is entitled to do their blog/site their own way and I respect that.

So….if your blog/site fills my list as above…please send me a link so I can take a look.  I’ll post the file after I get it completed.  🙂

siggysheryl

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I would love to see this list when your done, I sure hope you will share it with us
    I always enjoy finding new blogs .
    Kathie

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  October 19, 2009

      Hi Kathie,

      I want to make a few more additions to the list. Keep watching. I’ll post it when I’m finished.

      Reply
  2. Hi Sheryl,
    I would like to be considered for you list of bloggers. Thanks for looking.
    Joan Bassett

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  October 19, 2009

      Hi Joan,

      I’ll definitely take a look! Thanks for reading my blog.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7