Custom Set Quilts In EQ6

This is a tool I rarely use but it would save me so much grief!  I often want to design quilts that just don’t fit the “normal” settings.  I’m working up some swap blocks into a quilt and the next one will use blocks from the Nifty Fifty 8 swap I hosted several years ago.

Since there are 50 states, I have 50 blocks to put into this quilt.  A traditional layout just doesn’t compute for that number of blocks so when I assembled the quilt top our NF8 group donated for breast cancer research, I had to come up with something different.

I was working in Pennsylvania on a travel nurse assignment at the time and I know I had EQ installed on my computer but I think I drew this out by hand.  I want to use the same layout for my own quilt top and I wanted to see it in EQ6 before I start cutting.  Luckily I have this picture of the charity quilt top to work from.  My neighbors in the apartment complex must have thought I’m crazy for hanging a quilt from my balcony.  🙂

Nifty Fifty 8 Charity Quilt

Nifty Fifty 8 Charity Quilt

I’m changing my borders a bit for my own quilt so the quilt will be a little larger.  The charity quilt seen above is 102″  x  114″….a large quilt!  Mine will be 108″  x  120″…..a larger quilt!  Why did I do that????  I want my layout to look like this instead of plain strips between the 9-patches:

NF8 layout in EQ6

NF8 layout in EQ6

Everything is the same except for a 3″ addition to the borders.  It won’t be too hard to calculate the size of the strips I need to cut.  What’s going to be hard is deciding how to place all those blocks!  My Queen size bed probably won’t hold them all without over lapping.  🙂

Custom Set allowed me to place my blocks exactly where I want them and put spacers where I want strips.  If you haven’t given it a try…what are you waiting for? It’s a wonderful tool.  Thanks Penny, et al at Electric Quilt.

siggysheryl

Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. yvette

     /  September 14, 2009

    I came over from the info-eq list.

    Magnificent! When I get older I’ll try custom set.

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  October 19, 2009

      I’m glad you came for a look Yvette! You should really give Custom Set a try. 🙂

      Reply
  2. I, too, came over from info-eq list. I like the layout you designed for the Charity Quilt. Glad you found Custom Set. I use it a lot. Cuz I guess I make things that don’t fit into a conventional setting!

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  October 19, 2009

      Hi Pat,

      It’s a wonderful tool that is probably under-utilized (is that a word?? Lol)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7