Fun with the Ronco dehydrator

I’m so lucky.  I have great friends.  My friend Beth shares things with me all the time.  (Lest it look like I’m always on the receiving end…I share with her too).  Not long ago she loaned/gave me her extra FoodSaver unit and her Ronco Dehydrator and a handheld FoodSaver too.

I’ve been busy.  I’ve dried tomato skins.

Dried Tomato Skins in the Ronco Dehydrator

Dried Tomato Skins in the Ronco Dehydrator

Then I put them in the blender and ground them up.   Here’s the skins waiting in the blender.

Dried Tomato Skins in Blender

Dried Tomato Skins in Blender

Here’s the blender in acton:

Bosch blender grinding up tomato skins

Bosch blender grinding up tomato skins

Here’s the powdered skins sealed in a jar.

Tomato Powder

Tomato Powder

Then I dried some green onions tops.  These came from our garden.

Dried Green Onions

Dried Green Onions

And I dried some mixed peppers from the garden.  I have more peppers to dry and add to the jar.

Mixed Dried Peppers

Mixed Dried Peppers

Right now I’ve got Lemon Grass in the dehydrator and then I’ll dry some basil I was given this morning.  I met a wonderful lady today via a FreeCycle type group.  She gave me all sorts of garden goodies to plant in my yard:  white ginger, mint, lemon grass, split-leaf philodendron, bromeliads, a tiny orange lily that almost looks like an orchid….some Basil, Roma tomatoes, peppers…and probably some other stuff I’m forgetting right now.  I took her some Passiflora vines.  We had a wonderful visit and I made a new friend.

To top off a great morning, I met some friends for lunch and as usual we laughed our way through the whole thing.  Thanks Jan and Auline for such a good time!

It’s been a long day and I think I need a nap!  See ya next time.  🙂

siggysheryl

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Sheila in Ohio

     /  July 25, 2009

    I’m intrigued… the dried veggies will keep in the mason jars with no further (hot water bath or pressure cooker) processing?

    Reply
    • Quilting Tizzy

       /  July 25, 2009

      Sheila, the jars are vacuum sealed with a handheld FoodSaver so the food is shelf stable for a good while. I’m a newby to dehydrating foods so I can’t give specifics on how long it is stable. I know it lasts longer if kept from light. I just powdered the lemon grass and it smells fabulous!

      You need the jar adaptors for the canning jars. I bought mine through Amazon. I have the small & large adaptor as well as the bottle adaptors.

      Reply
  2. Patchkat Susan in TX

     /  July 26, 2009

    Sheryl, I dehydrate my stuff too..and store it in vacuum sealed bags. I love my FoodSaver!!! The bags are easier for me to store in the pantry. I put them in a large storage bin and label/date each bag. Right now, there are Texas Sweet Onions, Bell Peppers, Granny Smith Apples, Gala Apples, Strawberries(this is an experiment, lol), about 10lbs of Bing Cherries, Zuchinni. I haven’t tried any of my spices. Guess I should gather the sage and Basil 🙂 Oh, I did dry Rosemary and Cilantro. Hadn’t thought about powdering them!

    You can just wrap up some of that lemon grass (the starts) and mail it to me!!! I’ve been looking for lemon grass around here…none to be found.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7