Quilt-along (Bears in the Penthouse) is coming along

I’ve got a couple days left over this time! I finished up this installment last night. I really like the way it’s turning out. I’ve been away from home most of the day so I’m just now getting to the computer.

Aunt Alice (my Daddy’s sister) and my second cousin Alice Rachel drove down from Carthage, MS to visit today. Alice Rachel’s mother Jane was my cousin. We lost Jane to Multiple Sclerosis a few years ago.  I remember her as being incredibly smart and vivacious.  I like that memory.

We had a wonderful day together. We all ate lunch at Don’s in Hammond. The food is always good and the newly remodeled restaurant has a real New-Orleans-y atmosphere. I had Half & Half…half fried Crawfish tails and half Crawfish Etouffee`. It was delish!  Here’s a link to a recipe by Emeril.

After lunch we browsed at Berry Town Produce which you may remember as one of my very favorites place to shop. I had just bought fresh shrimp off the back of the truck at Michaels but I splurged on some boiled shrimp at BTP also.

We tasted some of the local wine at BTP. The Muscadine wine from Amato Winery in Independence is my favorite but the Cranberry and Blackberry wine isn’t bad either.  I’ll probably buy a couple bottles of Muscadine to take on vacation next month to share with some friends.

Are you wondering what happened to Bears in the Penthouse? I’m getting to that. 🙂

I’m not sure exactly how old Aunt Alice is but she was Daddy’s oldest sister so she’s probably around 80. She looks fabulous!

Alice Rachel & Aunt Alice

Alice Rachel & Aunt Alice

Left to right: Alice Rachel, me, Chris, Melba Chipley, Aunt Alice, Vanessa and Faith in front

Left to right: Alice Rachel, me, Chris (my dear son), Melba Chipley (my mother), Aunt Alice, Vanessa (my baby sister) and Faith (her wild child) in front.

Chris and Aunt Alice held up the quilt at it’s current stage so I could take this picture.  Just a little on the bright side wouldn’t you say???

bearspenthouseresize

I’m starting to wind down and I can feel the sandman coming.  See you later!

siggysheryl

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. patchkat

     /  March 23, 2009

    Sheryl, I love your Bears in the Penthouse! Bright is good 🙂 Wine…yum. I’ll have my glass ready! See ya soon.

    Reply
  2. Colorwise the quilt seems to want to go home with Faith.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7