Louisiana Shrimp

One of the best things about living in south Louisiana is the ease of buying fresh shrimp. You can buy it from several sellers on the side of the road in Hammond. They even sell fresh shrimp outside at Kinchen’s Department Store in Albany! We are so spoiled because we buy shrimp for about the same price as we pay for chicken, beef, or pork.

One of my favorite places to buy shrimp is a little market called Michael’s in Hammond. They sell it off the back of a pickup in front of the store. It’s all iced down and caught fresh and then trucked in for sale to people like me!  If you’ve never had Louisiana shrimp you don’t know what you’re missing.

We have 2 kinds of shrimp here.  In the spring we have brown shrimpWhite shrimp are harvested in late summer/early fall according to the LSU site.  They’re caught in the waters of the Gulf of Mexico off our coast line.

boiledshrimp2

I had to go to town today so I stopped at my favorite place to buy produce….Berry Town Produce.

They have a small market inside that sells boiled shrimp, crabs, etc.

I bought a pound of boiled shrimp to make a salad for my lunch and of course I snacked on a couple while I was peeling them.  😉

I love Romaine lettuce so I had also bought some of that.  I added chopped tomatoes, sliced black olives and thinly sliced white onion.  Sprinkled a bit of Lawrey’s Seasoned Pepper on top before adding Louisiana Remoulade dressing.  Oh…and added a bit of claw crab meat too.

shrimpsalad2

Does this look good????

Mmmmmm.

Mmmmmm.

Mmmmmm.

Mmmmmm.

Mmmmmm.

Good!

siggyb2

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7