What’s Cookin’ Today?

I should be sleeping but as usual I’m sitting at this computer playing around.  Tonight is our quilt guild, Southern Samplers annual Christmas party so I’ve been getting ready for that.  I finally settled on what I would take for the dinner table.  I had intended to take Chicken Alfredo from the my favorite local produce stand, BerryTown Produce, but that didn’t work out.

I thought about making a new artichoke dip recipe I found in a magazine but of course our stores don’t have frozen artichokes….well, forget that idea!

Then I got the bright idea to make oven roasted veggies….aaaahhhh….something I could see as a real possibility.  Back to  BerryTown Produce where I picked up white onions, red pepper, yellow pepper, green beans, mushrooms, carrots, and some other stuff….wish I had gotten some real grated Parmesan cheese while I was there.  Then to Albertsons where I found some Japanese eggplant, yellow squash and real pretty zucchini squash.

After washing and slicing I mixed the veggies together with olive oil, Lawry’s Seasoned Pepper (my secret weapon in the kitchen), basil, salt, and garlic powder in that big red bowl you saw the bread mixed up in.  I had garlic in the refrigerator so I chopped the cloves up and tossed them in along with some wedges of red potato.  Transferred it to 2 pans, covered them with foil and baked for a couple hours at 250 degrees.

ovenroastedveggies2resizeopt

The big crock pot is all clean and ready.  I’ll put the veggies back in the oven this afternoon (uncovered) at 400 degrees for about 30 minutes.  That should be just long enough to get them nice and hot to put in the crockpot.  I’ll use that to keep the veggies warm at the party.   While we’re in Baton Rouge today I’ll pick up some fresh grated Parmesan cheese to sprinkle on top of the veggies.

This is super easy and it’s  delicious!

Since, the food is ready, I need to wrap my gift for my Secret Pal.  I picked up a nice tote in Houston at the quilt expo and I bought some Hot Buttered Rum mix at World Market last week.  I’ve got some other goodies to go in the package too.  A few weeks ago Vanessa and I made hot pads for Secret Santa gifts and I made an extra one that I’ll include in the package for my Secret Pal.  We used the Square in a Square ruler™ to make the blocks.  Here’s what the hot pad looks like.  It has a layer of Insul-Bright and a layer of Dream Cotton for padding.  I think it’s cute and I think my Secret Pal will enjoy having it.

hotpadresizeopt

Well, it’s time to catch a nap.  See you all later!

siggyb2

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7