Amish Friendship Bread

In the last year I’ve become interested in some of the things I learned in Home Ec. way back in high school.  Recently my dear friend Beth gave me a baggie of Amish Friendship Bread.  I really wasn’t too sure I wanted to babysit bread mix but I gave it a try anyway.

She also gave my mother a starter baggie as well which was a good thing because on baking day I spilled mine all over the counter.  Mother gave me her baggie and I made 2 loaves of cranberry/walnut bread and gave 2 starters to nurses I work with.

Every time you split the starter, you have 3 baggies…1 to keep and 2 to give away.  Of course you can keep all 3 baggies for yourself if you need to make bread for gifts.

My starter from that first batch isn’t ready to divide again but Beth gave me a whole baggie today….not just 1 starter…she gave me the whole thing.  Thanks Beth!  I was supposed to work tonight but got put “on-call” so I baked bread!  Here’s a picture showing the baggies.

starteroptresize

The one on the right is my starter from 12/1.  Today was just a squish the baggie day for it.  Every couple days you have to open the baggie to allow the “gas” that builds up to release.  Be sure to stand back as it’s a potent yeasty smell..not unpleasant at all.  🙂

The full baggie on the left is the one Beth gave me.  She started it on 11/27.  You can also see the 3 baggies I have ready to divide starter into.  It’s important to write the date on the baggie because everything you do to it depends on that date.    I also write what it is on the baggie just in case DH gets too happy with wiping off the counter and thinks its something for the trash.  Not!

sugaredpansoptresize

Before I start mixing the ingredients together for baking, I preheat the oven and prepare the baking pans by spraying them with Bakers Choice and then sprinkling the sides and bottoms with sugar.

mixingoptresize

I wasn’t too neat when I poured the mix into the baking pans so there are dribbles on the pans but here’s what the bread looks like.  I added 1 cup chopped walnuts, 1 cup chopped apple, 1/2 cup dried cranberries to this batch.

bakedbreadoptresize

Yum!

siggyb2

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Judy L.

     /  December 8, 2008

    That looks yummy. I have the recipe to get it all started but like you, not sure I want to deal with it. Don’t post anything else about it, ok? Or, I might have to start it too and I just don’t need anything else going on right now. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7