More Butterflies & a New Quilt Started

Ok, Judy.    Here I am.  🙂  Butterfly #13 emerged yesterday.  Of course it happened between the time I stitched a couple rows of the new quilt I’m working on and a trip to the ironing board.  I think the butterflies watch to make sure I’m not watching them as they emerge.  Otherwise, why wouldn’t I have been able to see at least one of these things come into the world?  That’s the only possible explanation.  There are still 4 chrysalis to hatch and there’s one caterpiller  still hungrily munching on the leaves.

I started a new quilt this week.  I was doing a search for something and came across a blog with a picture of an adorable quilt.  It’s done with reproductions but I really thought it was vintage feedsacks.  Since I’m a feedsack fanatic, my brain went into overload.  A few years ago, my online group…Feedsack Memories…had a swap of 6″ feedsack charms.

I couldn’t find my Kona White which would have been a great weave to use with the vintage fabrics so I’m using Southern Belle bleached muslin instead.  It’s a much tighter weave but I had to work with what I could lay my hands on.

I’ve almost got the top sewn together.  The borders will probably have to wait until next week.  Finn’s quilt is made of 4″ charms and I’m using 6″ charms so it’s quite a bit larger.

The real reason I got so excited when I saw the Finn’s quilt is that I’ve promised to do a lecture next fall based on my experiences as an internet quilt junkie.  The lecture will include a lot of info about quilt block/fabric/signature swaps.  This quilt was the perfect quick pattern in which I could use the “swap” charms.  I’m going to call my quilt “Feedsack Delight”.

Here’s a pic of my quilt top in progress.  I’ll post another pic when I get the top finished.  Then I’ll have to find someone to quilt it for me.  🙂

Feedsack Delight in progress

Feedsack Delight in progress

It’s a very simple design that definitely has potential for some great quilting.  I’m headed off to do some more stitching and ironing!

siggyb2

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7