Busy Weekend

I haven’t fallen off the wagon but I did take time to make some Watermelon Rind Preserves for the dear hubby, Don.  He loves them.  It’s hard to find melons these days that have thick rinds but we’ve recently had 2 so he requested preserves.  He does so much for me, how could I say no?

I made one batch Friday night and it took forever.  I was determined that the next batches would go quicker.  And they did.  He helped peel the rind and I got it all cut up last night and in the fridge soaking in brine.  I did the rinsing today and made 2 more batches.  The first batch I made Friday night was a mixture of ginger and allspice seasonings.  The batches today were one with just ginger and one with cinnamon sticks and whole cloves.  Guess which one smells the best?

WatermelonRindPreserves1_5000x375

Watermelon Rind Preserves with Ginger and Allspice

WatermelonRindPreserves3_500x375

Watermelon Rind Preserves with Ginger only

WatermelonRindPreserves2_500x375

Watermelon Rind Preserves with Cinnamon Sticks and Whole Cloves

Of course I did have to taste test them and by golly, they passed the test!  If you want to make some of your own, I used recipes from these sites:

Watermelon Rind Preserves recipe   In this recipe, I used half ginger and half allspice for the first batch.  I also added a little red food coloring to the first batch to make them pretty.

Mother Earth News recipe

One thing to remember is to always use a prepared lemon juice like “Real Lemon” so that the pH is right.

Now to show you something pretty.  When I visited Susan and Wanda in 2012, Wanda sent me home with some rose cuttings from her yard.  They all rooted and here’s one that is just beautiful.  It’s an old garden rose called Monsieur Tillier.  This is the first bloom on the plant grown from her cutting.

MonsTillier

SherylSigRedFinal2

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. there are so many kinds of watermelon at the market. is there a particular type that you find works best?

    Reply
  2. It takes a good bit of rind to make a batch of preserves so just be sure to choose a fairly large melon. It doesn’t matter what kind of watermelon it is as long as it has a thick rind (lots of white on the edges).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 922 other followers