About the Jump Start on Weight Loss

Remember that I mentioned I had a head start on the weight I’ve recently lost?  It happened because I did something

Stupid

Stupid

Stupid.

Please don’t make the same mistake I did.

I have a little garden I tend to.  When I say little, that’s exactly what I mean.  I’ll post more about it later.  I love my little garden.  I’ve got tomatoes, yellow squash, zucchini squash, banana peppers, Japanese eggplants, cucumbers, Sugar Baby watermelons, and one Cantaloupe.   This may sound like a lot but it’s not.

I try not to use pesticides on my vegetables, but when it comes to tomatoes if you don’t do something, the stink bugs ruin all the fruit.  They sting them, suck big holes and make them useless.  So I asked Don to dust my little garden with Sevin dust.  He did.

A few days later (no rain), I went into the garden to pick veggies and the Sevin dust was still in place.  I had my face all in that stuff as I gathered tomatoes, etc.  At the time, I thought “this probably isn’t a good idea”.  But when I left the garden, I forgot to go inside and shower off.  There’s no telling how much of that stuff I breathed in.

Fast forward to 2 days later and I was feeling lousy.  Tired, sleepy, short of breath with just a few steps, no appetite.  I even had a nosebleed 2 days in a row and that’s more than I’ve had in over 61 years.  All I wanted to do was sleep and that’s what I did…..for days.

Did I go to the doctor you may ask?  Well, no.  I’m notorious for that.  And when I tell him about this episode he won’t be happy.

After about a week, I started making myself sit up for a few hours and try to eat.  I did drink water during all this so I wasn’t dehydrated.  It took a few more days to get enough strength to go out to see the alpaca’s and take a look at the garden again.

I’m over it but it was scary.  I lost about 10 pounds.  I told Don one day last week that in the middle of all that, I really wouldn’t have cared if I had passed on.  That’s just how bad I felt.

I’m over it and the garden needs dusting again but you can be darned sure that I’ll wear a dust mask before getting around that stuff again!

Moral of the story:  Don’t use pesticides and breathe it!!!!

SherylSigRedFinal2

Next Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Barbara R

     /  June 29, 2014

    That is really scary. I am glad you are feeling better. We havn’t put anything on our plants. Luckily we havn’t seen any bugs yet. Usually it is tomato horn worms. Thank you for sharing your posts.

    Reply
  2. Darn Sheryl… There’s got to be a better way… So glad you came thru ok. I can’t get near any chemicals without having adverse reactions…. Sometimes even fabric bothers me. Take good care now. Karen

    Reply
  3. Katie

     /  June 29, 2014

    you still might want to go see the Dr. and check for long term problems??

    Reply
  4. Beverley Timmons-Wilson

     /  June 29, 2014

    Oh deer Sheryl That is terrible U better be careful And do a detox

    Sent from my iPhone Bev

    >

    Reply
  5. Sharon

     /  June 29, 2014

    I am glad you are okay!

    Reply
  6. Ruth S.

     /  June 30, 2014

    I will take your recommendation about not breathing in the “bad” stuff with your experience as a testimonial as to how terrible it can be…..REALLY BAD. Glad you are still with us and doing better.

    Reply
  7. I’m glad your fine.that was Whoo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • More Than Four Walls

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 921 other followers