More About “Fed Up”

A report on the film and a mini rant.

Good friend Tootie, sister Vanessa, and I saw Fed Up Wednesday night in New Orleans.  We almost missed it because the  official site for the film had the date wrong.  Vanessa did a search for it and it came up as showing 2 days early.  It was a one time showing.  Tickets had to be purchased in advance so I took care of that.  I cleaned up my little get-around car and off we went.

It was storming!  And here we were hell-bent on getting to the city to see this film.  :-)   At night!  I had checked the showtimes for other films at this theatre and it looked like there would be plenty of foot traffic in the parking garage both coming and going so we felt pretty safe.

It’s a really nice theatre.  The seats are very comfy and we even had padded benches to prop our feet on.  You can order food and cocktails delivered right to your seat but we didn’t take advantage of that.

I wish I had taken a selfie of us going into the theatre but I didn’t.  Sorry.

So, what did I think about the film?  It was well done.  It presented real evidence that sugar is not good for us.  It presented real statistics about how the war on dietary fat was the beginning of an unprecedented obesity epidemic, especially among adolescents.   It presented real statistics about the type 2 diabetes epidemic among adolescents.  I wish I could see it again because I’m sure I missed a lot.

I fully expected to see and hear a lot of things that I disagreed with or just didn’t believe but that wasn’t the case at all.  The only thing I’m uncertain about is how big a role the government should play in limiting sugar in our diets.  I don’t like the idea of them making decisions for me and my family that I think are “my” business.  But…… It may take the Fed restricting advertisements promoting foods to our children that are filled with sugar to get a grip on this.  It may take the Fed to make Big Food companies to be more truthful about how much sugar is in packaged food.  Big Food doesn’t want that to happen. They’ve already spent a lot of money developing low-fat products and don’t want that money to be wasted and they make tons of money on high sugar content foods they bombard our children with ads for.  This threatens their bottom line.

Do not be fooled.  These companies do not care about our health.  They only care about how much money they can make.  Pure and simple.

Did you ever notice that on the nutrition label, there is no mention of how much sugar is in that particular food in regards to the recommended daily allowance?  Do you know why?  Because it would scare people to death!  Recommended daily allowance of sugar is 6-8 teaspoons of sugar.  On those labels, sugar is listed in grams.   4 grams of sugar is 1 teaspoon.  On the nutrition panel for Kellogg’s Pop Tarts, it states that a serving size is one pastry (2 pastries are in each foil pouch).  The sugar content is 17 grams.  That’s over 4 teaspoons.  How much sugar is left for the rest of the day based on the nutrition guidelines?  Not much.  If both pastries in the pouch are eaten….ooops…..you’re already in trouble.  Add to that a sugar sweetened canned soda, etc. etc.  Can you see where this is taking us?  I do believe exercise is an important part of our health but there’s no reasonable way to exercise off the calories in a soda.  What are the odds for exercising off the calories of 2 canned soda’s in a day?

Start reading the labels in your cabinet.  I’m cleaning my pantry out this week.

With the increase in obesity, there follows an increase in health issues….serious ones.  We can’t afford the eventual costs associated with them.

I’ve been watching my carbohydrate consumption since I was diagnosed with diabetes several years ago.  Since I’ve started paying attention to how much actual sugar is in food products and skipping many foods my glucose levels are coming down even more.  My A1C is already below 6.  I think I will be able to eliminate Byetta injections from my daily routine.  That’s a real plus.

I don’t feel deprived (with one exception).  I feel more energetic.  I’m getting more done around the house every day.  I have much less pain.  I sleep better.  Limiting sugar may not be what you want to do but it’s working for me so I think I’ll keep it up.

Truth told me about an article in Time magazine called “Eat Butter”.  I don’t advocate eating butter just to be eating butter, but this article has a lot of important information in it.  I found the issue at our local library and checked it out so I can read it at home in depth.  It’s the June 23rd issue.

Now, for the one exception about feeling deprived.  Being that we were in New Orleans and being that New Orleans is famous for Beignets and Cafe au Lait at Cafe du Monde, we made the conscious decision to make a stop at the drive thru.  Yes, we ordered 3 orders of Beignets (3 per order).  In case you don’t know what a Beignet is, it’s a square fried doughnut that is dusted with powdered sugar.  Yes, they’re sinfully good.  Yummy to be exact.  I had a Cafe au Lait without sugar to go with my order.

Did I pay for that indiscretion?  Yes, I did!  The next day, I felt like crap.  I was lethargic.  I craved sugar all day long.  I was miserable.  But, I resisted the urge and made it through the day and I’m back on track.

Will I ever fall off the wagon again?  Of course, I will.  I love sweets.  I’m addicted to them.  But at this point, I’m pretty sure I’m not going to let sugar take control of my life again.

Do yourself a favor and go see this film if it’s in your area.  I’m so glad I did.

SherylSigRedFinal2

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Judee

     /  June 28, 2014

    Sheryl, well written and I agree with what the movie presented as well. I saw it on the same night you did, but in a different state. Sugar is not good for us in the amounts that we typically consume. I have drastically cut it out and am feeling much better because of it.
    I left the theatre both sad and angry. Angry that big food is presenting “food” to us as healthy but that is mostly further from the truth. Sad because I know my health has been impacted negatively because of consuming processed foods. Dr Mark Hyman said it best, if it comes with a label its probably not good for you.

    As Moms everywhere say: Eat your vegetables!

    Reply
  2. Helen Poole

     /  June 28, 2014

    Sheryl,
    thanks for posting this article. It has and will help a lot of others including myself.. Little white donuts with my morning coffee is my weakness. My daughter always has drank diet Coke until a few months ago, she told me that since giving up her sodas , she doesn’t crave sweets anymore. Sometimes her schedule prevents her from eating a good lunch but even tho it is fast food , she tries to get the best ‘healthy’ food they have ..
    Congratulations on your choosing a healthy life for yourself and here’s prayers that it gets easier as each day goes by! I quit smoking 20 yrs ago and it was not easy, but by the grace of God, I was able to say “no” and each day was easier. I have never picked up one to smoke since that day I asked for help..
    thinking of you ,, Helen

    Reply
    • I gave up my beloved diet Ginger Ale and diet 7 Up when I started the 10 day challenge. That alone eliminated most of the sugar cravings.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • greenfairybutton

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 940 other followers