MIA and Other Such and Stuff

I knew it had been a while since I posted anything but I didn’t realize how long it had been!  Are you all still there?

In a week, Christmas Town Sampler will begin so watch for a post next Saturday with my first block.  Then you can visit Denise , Susan, and Judy to pick up their blocks.  Have any of you chosen your fabrics yet?  Well, neither have I.  Lol

Since my last post, I’ve been to St. George, UT for longarm training at Teryl’s & John’s shop, Let’s Quilt.  It was a fabulous trip.  I had a cool room mate and great people in class with me.  I’ll post some pictures of the trip later.

The thing that has really been keeping me busy has been Judy L’s free, online feather class.  The lessons are still on her site under “tutorials” so be sure to take a look.  She’s got some really good tips for those of us who aspire to quilt lovely feathers.

I hadn’t finished my quilt top in time to start class on time so I had to play catch-up.  I finally got started on the feathers and I’ll tell you right now….anything looks good from a galloping horse.  :-)

I’m satisfied with the quilt and it was a great learning experience but there’s definitely room for improvement….vast improvement.  I’m glad you can’t see all the missed backtracking and wonky shapes.  All you can see in the pictures is the overall effect and that’s good.   I quilted it on my Innova.

I took the pictures outside to get better color.  Obviously the grass and weeds need trimming around the garden bench.

Carpenter Star Feathered

Carpenter Star Feathered

Center of borders.

Corner Feather

 

Half Wreath

Center. Feathered hearts in large squares and wreaths in small squares.

If you’ve always wanted to quilt feathers, just go for it.  It’s fun!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Wanda Brewer

     /  July 1, 2012

    If I could even come close to doing these, I would consider myself a professional. I see you laughing! That is beautiful.
    WWWanda

    Reply
  2. LK Smith

     /  July 1, 2012

    It is beautiful! You did a terrific job. I am looking forward to seeing some pictures from your training in Utah.

    Reply
    • Thanks. I didn’t take many pictures in class but I did take pictures of the scenery. Guess that says where my head was, huh?

      Reply
  3. Nancy in IN

     /  July 1, 2012

    You did a super job. I do mine on my home machine. After doing 8 placemats of continuous-line hearts, I feel a little. I’ll check the tute on feathers.
    Thanks

    Reply
  4. Thanks, Nancy. I really admire people who can quilt at a sit down machine. All I can do that way is stitch in the ditch and cross-hatching. I was a miserable failure when I tried to do feathers that way so I decided to leave sit down quilting to those who can do it. :-)

    Reply
  5. Lovely quilt and photos also.

    Reply
  6. very pretty Sheryl. You can’t see any boo boos. I like the overall design. Keep up the good work. And yes,I have my fabric for the town sampler,can’t wait. Should be fun.

    Reply
  7. Maureen

     /  July 2, 2012

    Sheryl, your quilting looks good – I think you did a great job!! I do my quilting at a sit-down domestic machine, so, I had to wait until she was pretty much done until I could start – then DH and I went on vacation…hmmm….haven’t started yet:-)

    Reply
  8. I think that you did a great job on your feathers!

    Reply
  9. Marla Southers

     /  August 5, 2012

    Hi Sheryl, I found your blog!! We did have a great time in Utah didn’t we? I learned so much there with Teryl. Your feathers ARE beautiful! I have been working on them as well. You ought to see me when I am sitting in doctor office waiting rooms, doodling feathers on my legal pad. So professional of me I know! LOL! –Marla S.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Follow Me on Pinterest

  • Free Motion Quilting Project

  • Thread Talk

  • greenfairybutton

  • Dream, Design, Create with EQ7

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 975 other followers